Department News, August 2018

17 August 2018

  1. Hao Ni and Steven Bishop have been appointed Turing Fellows of the Alan Turing Institute for 2 years from October 2018. Hao has also been funded by the ATI for the project (joint with Manchester) ''Spatial Learning: Applications in Structure Based Drug Design''.
  2. Alumnus and Honorary Lecturer, Hannah Fry has recently won the LMS/IMA Christopher Zeeman Meda for her contributions to the public understanding of the mathematical sciences. https://www.lms.ac.uk/news-entry/08082018-1027/hannah-fry-awarded-2018-zeeman-medal

    Hannah has also been shortlisted for the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize 2018, for her book on algorithms ''Hello World''.
  3. Frank Smith and Ryan Palmer have been awarded 15 months of funding for their project ''Numerical and Analytical Analysis of Droplets Impacting Aircraft'' This was awarded by UCL’s Innovation and Enterprise Discovery-to-Use scheme which has funding from EPSRC Impact Acceleration Awards (IAA).