4th W K Clifford Prize Lecture, 10 November 2022

10 November 2022, 4:00 pm–6:00 pm

This event is free.

Event Information

Open to







Helen Wilson – Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics of University College London honours the laureates of the W. K. Clifford Prize, by offering them the opportunity to deliver a special lecture.

William Kingdon Clifford worked from 1871 until his untimely death in 1879 as Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University College London, holding the Goldsmid Chair.

The W. K. Clifford Prize was instituted by the International Conference on Clifford Algebras and Their Applications in Mathematical Physics (ICCA). The fourth special lecture will be given by the 2020 Laureate Dmitrii Legatiuk from Bauhaus-Universität Weimar (Germany).

Venue: Department of Mathematics, University College London, 25 Gordon Street, London, Harrie Massey Lecture Theatre (ground floor).

Date: Thursday 10th Nov 2022


4.00 pm: Opening session
H Wilson (Head, Dept. of Mathematics, UCL): William K. Clifford and UCL

4.10 pm: 4th W. K. Clifford Prize Winner Lecture
D. Legatiuk: Mathematical modelling in engineering: from abstraction to practice

5.00 pm: Reception offered by the Department of Mathematics UCL in room 502 (5th floor).

The details for the live streaming are:
Zoom link:

Webinar ID: 922 0546 9638
Passcode: 946296 



Legatiuk Awarded W.K. Clifford Prize

Dmitrii Legatiuk of Bauhaus-Universität Weimar was selected as the recipient of the 2020 W. K. Clifford Prize for his “significant contributions in Clifford analysis, including interpolation of monogenic functions, quaternionic operator calculus, and construction of advanced numerical methods.”  Dr. Legatiuk earned his Ph.D. from Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, where his doctoral research earned him the 2015 University Prize for Young Scientists. 

Dr. Legatiuk’s interest in Clifford analysis, particularly its potential to solve difficult applied problems, has led him to such advances as using quaternionic operator calculus to construct representation formulas for solutions of boundary value problems in advanced elasticity theories, interpolation of monogenic functions by various tools, and developing a finite element exterior calculus based on script geometry.   His interests “span mathematics, computer science, and engineering, reflecting the broad applicability of Clifford algebras and echoing the wide-ranging interests of W. K. Clifford himself.”

The W. K. Clifford Prize is an international scientific prize intended to encourage young researchers to compete for excellence in research in theoretical and applied Clifford algebras and their analysis and geometry. Awarded every three years at ICCA (International Conference on Clifford Algebras and their Applications in Mathematical Physics), the 2020 W.K. Clifford Prize was awarded to Dr. Legatiuk at the 12th ICCA in Hefei, China.