UCL Faculty of Laws


Professor Ioannis Lianos appointed to Competition Appeal Tribunal’s panel of Ordinary Members

9 January 2024

It has been announced today that Kevin Hollinrake MP (Minister for Enterprise, Markets and Small Business) has appointed seven new members to the Competition Appeal Tribunal’s panel of Ordinary Members.


Professor Ioannis Lianos, Professor of Global Competition Law and Public Policy at UCL Laws, has been appointed to the Competition Appeal Tribunal’s panel of Ordinary Members along with Keith Derbyshire, Lesley Farrell, Hugh Kelly, Professor Ioannis Kokkoris, Andrew Taylor and Antony Woodgate.

The Tribunal is a specialist judicial body with expertise in law, economics, business and accountancy. Its role is to hear and decide appeals and other applications or claims involving competition or economic regulatory issues. Ordinary Members are selected for their expertise in law, business, accountancy, economics and other related fields.

Professor Lianos joined UCL in 2005 and was promoted to a chair in 2014. He is the founding director of the Centre for Law, Economics and Society at UCL Laws. He was President of the Hellenic Competition Commission from August 2019 to December 2023. Professor Lianos was elected a member of the Bureau of the OECD Competition Committee in 2021 and re-elected in 2022 and 2023. He was appointed to EU High Level Group on the Digital Markets Act in 2023.

Professor Lianos commented: 

"I am honoured to have been appointed today a member of the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal for a mandate of 8 years. I am looking forward to working with the excellent colleagues at the CAT and to be part of this world-class specialist independent judicial body."

For more information about the appointments, read the announcement on the Department for Business and Trade’s website.