UCL Faculty of Laws


UCL Laws Student Prizewinners Ceremony 2017

22 February 2017

The UCL Laws Student Prize Winners Ceremony is one of the highlights of the Faculty’s year


The ceremony, which took place at Beveridge Hall at the Senate House on 21 February 2017, gives recognition and celebrate our students’ accomplishments.

Professor Dame Hazel Genn, Dean of UCL Laws, said:

‘Many congratulations to all of our prize winners. May your experience at UCL Laws provide the foundation for even greater accomplishments and success.’

Each of our prizes are made possible through the generous support of a wide range of sponsors and benefactors, including legal firms and alumni who maintain strong links with UCL Laws and who recognise the excellence of our students.

Flickr Widget Placeholderhttps://www.flickr.com/photos/ucllaws/albums/72157679234404300


Theodore Chua, UCL Laws LLB student, said:

‘I will always remember the Faculty for being open and respectful to students of all backgrounds and learning styles, allowing us to chart our own development while providing valuable mentorship.

Being awarded the Hurst prize, Richardson Prize and Bentham Prize for Jurisprudence is a true honour and affirmation of my legal journey thus far.’

Each year, UCL Laws admits outstanding students from the UK and all over the world. Our prizes and scholarships are awarded to students who have achieved top marks in their examinations at UCL Laws or whose academic distinction is such that a scholarship has been awarded to provide the opportunity to study here.

Olga Thomas, Vice Dean (Education) and Faculty Tutor at UCL Laws, said:

‘This ceremony would not be possible without the generosity of our sponsors, old and new, to whom we express our sincere gratitude.

Nor would it be possible without the commitment and excellence of our students. We congratulate them heartily and wish them every success.’

Past UCL Laws Student Prize Winners Ceremonies.


LLB – 1st year prizes

Nnenna Asubo

– Mishcon Bursary

Matthew Allan

– Simon Wallace Memorial Prize for Contract Law

Georgina Davis

– Dechert Prize in Property Law

Martin Hiess

– Mishcon Bursary

Ashley Tan

– Herbert Smith Freehills Prize for Excellence

– Kingsley Napley Prize for the Best Criminal Law Student

Alexander Walsh

– Faculty Prize for Highest Overall Achievement

Rhys Williams

– Blackstone Chambers Public Law Prize

Leo Yung

– Simon Wallace Memorial Prize for Contract Law

– Linklaters Prize for Excellence

– Webber Prize


LLB – 2nd year prizes

Theodore Chua

– Richardson Prize

– Hurst Prize

– Bentham Prize for Jurisprudence

Nitish Verma

– Richardson Prize

Annie Wood

– Richardson Prize

– Pump Court Tax Chambers Prize


LLB – Finalist prizes

Martina Benackova    

– Bentham Club Scholarship

Waleed Butt   

– John Frederic Whitehouse Essay Award

Catherine Campbell      

– 1 Garden Court Family Law

– Chambers Family Law Prize

Juniper Cheong    

– Cheng Tien-Hsi Prize for Public International Law

– Faculty Research Prize

Alexander Diggens

– Jolowicz Prize

– Andrews Medal and Prize

– Dean’s List

Louisa Emery

– Bentham Club Scholarship

Xin Gao

– Blackstone Chambers Commercial Law Prize

– Dean’s List

Cara Goldthorpe

– Dean’s List

Ashwin Gopakumar

– The Chartered Institute of Tax, London Branch, Prize for Taxation

Alexander Goss

– Charlotte Ashby Prize

Jennifer Ho 

– Old Square Chambers Prize for Employment Law

– Bentham Prize for High Achievement

Georgios  Ketsopoulos

– IBIL For Excellence in IP Research

Desiree Loke

– The International Corporate Rescue Prize for LLB Company Law

– Dean’s List

Yap Swee Khean Neil

– IBIL Intellectual Property Prize for overall best performance in the Intellectual Property LLB

Emily Onions

– Leonard Sainer Scholarship (LPC)

Isaac Richardson

– Sweet & Maxwell Prize

Marcus Chen Hsiang Tan

– Dean’s List

Wen Shan Tan    

– Kingsley Napley prize for the Law of Evidence


LLM prizes and awards

Antony Adiputra

– Bentham Scholarship

Alec Bombell   

– Master of the Rolls Scholarship for Commonwealth Students

Juan Pablo Celis Morgan  

– Bentham Scholarship

Daphne Chung  

– GlaxoSmithKline Prize for Excellence in Patents and Trade Secrets

Stephanie Erian

– The Sir John Salmond Scholarship for Students from Australia and New Zealand

Corinna Gšggerle  

– International Corporate Rescue Award for Excellence

Sarah Kam      

– Bentham Scholarship

Ioanna  Katsaouni 

– Ince & Co Prize for Top Performance in Carriage of Goods by Sea

Michal Klein   

– Leonard Sainer Scholarship Israel (LLM)

Wing Yan Adrienne Lam 

– Vinson Chu Peking U/UCL Law Scholarship

Yiwen Lu

– GlaxoSmithKline Prize for Excellence in Patents and Trade Secrets

Rukhlan Mamedov

– CIArb Prize for International Arbitration

William Martin 

– Cheng Cheng-Nan Prize for International Law

Nicolas Miranda Larraguibel  

– CIArb Prize for International Arbitration

Rikkilee Moser  

– The Sir Frederick Pollack Scholarship for Students from North America

Kyra Nezami

– GlaxoSmithKline Prize for Excellence in Patents and Trade Secrets

Mandla Ndlovu

– The John Carr Scholarship for Students from Africa and the Caribbean

Riccardo Savona Siemens  

– Val Korah Prize of Excellence in Competition Law

Holly Symonds 

– Leonard Sainer Scholarship (BPTC)

Pallavi  Taneja 

– The Chief Justice Scholarship for Students from India

Pamela Torres Bustamante       

– Francis Taylor Building Prize for Best Overall Mark in the Environmental Law

Mark Wraith 

– Pump Court Tax Chambers Prize

Bowen Wang

– Vinson Chu Peking U/UCL Law Scholarship

Yujie Wu 

– Bentham Scholarship

Pianpian Zou   

– Bentham Scholarship


Research Prizes

Conor  Crummey     

– Faculty Research Scholarship

Hitesh Dhorajiwala

– Faculty Research Scholarship

Julius Grower

– Peter Birks Scholarship

Alexandra Hearne

– Faculty Research Scholarship

Daniella Lock  

– Economic and Social Research Council Scholarship

Murilo Lubambo De Melo

– Joseph Hume Scholarship

Nikolaos Pavlopoulos

– Economic and Social Research Council Scholarship

Edmund Robinson 

– London Arts & Humanities Partnership Scholarship

Ira Ryk-Lakhman  

– Faculty Research Scholarship

Nicholas Sinanis

– Peter Birks Scholarship

Luis Felipe Viveros

– Modern Law Review Scholarship