UCL Faculty of Laws


A symposium celebrating the ILO’s hundredth anniversary

13 November 2019, 5:00 pm–7:00 pm

ILO 100 years logo

Event Information

Open to



UCL Laws Events


Moot Court
UCL Faculty of Laws, Bentham House, Endsleigh Gardens

A symposium celebrating the ILO’s hundredth anniversary

Organisers: Keith Ewing, Nicola Countouris

YouTube Widget Placeholderhttps://youtu.be/vkKWQdQ8SVM


YouTube Widget Placeholderhttps://youtu.be/mXUilu0UoQY


Institutional support:  KCL School of Law - UCL Faculty of Laws (UCL Global Engagement Fund)

This symposium seeks to bring together a number of experts from the world of academia, the ILO, and a number of other national, regional, and international organisations and bodies to celebrate first hundredth anniversary of the World Parliament of Labour, the ILO, and assess the functions and functioning of the principle of freedom of association as emerging, directly and indirectly, from the works and activities of the organisation. The symposium adopts a deliberately broad and loose understanding of how freedom of association is relevant to the activities and to the very existence of the ILO, precisely to encourage a rich and multifaceted engagement with the concept itself. Perspectives focusing on the analysis of the principle as stemming from ILO Convention 87 or other ILO instruments and documents;  or on the way the principle is understood as operating by particular bodies of the Organisation (including of course the CFA and the CEACR) or by other national or international organisations, institutions, legal regimes, or treaties;  any comparative enquiry on the impact of the principle or analyses on how other areas of ILO intervention have either benefited from or interacted with freedom or association. All these, and many other, perspectives would no doubt fit the format and purpose of this symposium, which will also be an opportunity to elaborate on the new ILO Centenary Declaration for the Future of Work.

So far the following speakers have agreed to attend and present

  • Andrea Allamprese - Assistant Professor in Labour Law, University of Modena
  • Lizzie Barmes – Professor of Labour Law, Queen Mary University of London
  • Daniel Blackburn – International Centre for Trade Union Rights, Director
  • Alan Bogg – Professor of Labour Law, University of Bristol
  • Halton Cheadle – Professor of Public Law, Cape Town University, ILO CEACR member
  • Hugh Collins - Vinerian Professor of English Law, Oxford
  • Valerio De Stefano - BOF-ZAP Research Professor, KUL,
  • Keith Ewing – Professor of Public Law, King’s College London
  • Sandra Fredman - Rhodes Professor of the Laws, Oxford
  • Mark Freedland - Emeritus Professor of Employment Law, Oxford; Honorary Prof. UCL
  • Oxana Golynker - Lecturer in Law, Leicester
  • Lord Hendy QC – Hon Prof. UCL Laws, Old Square Chambers
  • Nicola Kountouris – Professor of Labour Law and European Law, UCL
  • Esther Lynch – Deputy General Secretary, ETUC
  • Virginia Mantouvalou – Professor in Human Rights and Labour Law, UCL
  • Aileen McColgan – Professor of Law and Social Justice, Leeds; Barrister, 11KBW
  • Ewan McGaughey - Senior Lecture in Law, KCL
  • Karon Monaghan QC – Matrix Chambers, Hon Prof. UCL Laws, ILO CEACR member
  • Gilliam Morris - Matrix Chambers
  • Colm O’Cinneide – Professor of Constitutional and Human Rights Law, UCL
  • Jeremias Prassl – Professor of Law, Oxford
  • Lisa Rodgers – Lecturer in Law, Leicester
  • Astrid Sanders - Associate Professor of Labour Law, LSE

Book your place