Institute for Global Health


EuroCoord: Enhancing clinical & epidemiological HIV research in Europe through cohort collaboration

Project Summary 

The overarching aim of EuroCoord is to use the scientific strengths of each collaboration to ensure that the best, most competitive research is performed. Such a large, integrated network has allowed a common virtual database to be established, which currently has access to data from over 250,000 HIV-infected individuals from many different settings across Europe and beyond.

EuroCoord’s multidisciplinary approach allows the following key areas of HIV research to be addressed, aimed at improving the management and life of HIV-infected individuals, whilst allowing us to explore differences within sub-groups:

  • Characterising HIV infected populations in Europe (including the epidemiology of different subtypes)
  • Improving our understanding of pathogenesis (including understanding the mechanisms of non-progression)
  • Documenting uptake of and response to therapy
  • Evaluating the implications of long-term HIV infection and exposure to therapy
  • Assessing the implications of specific management strategies
  • Improving the management of hepatitis co-infection
  • Tuberculosis (TB) among HIV-infected patients
  • HIV and AIDS in migrant populations in Europe
  • Modelling the HIV infected population in Europe.

The Network also aims to use its expertise to establish training programmes to improve research skills. These will include courses in statistical techniques to allow researchers to undertake observational research of the highest calibre, and to provide basic and updated laboratory and clinical training to aid the management of HIV-infected patients.

Links to other research

Other research from the UCL Centre for Clinical Research, Epidemiology, Modelling and Evaluation (CREME)

Other research from IGH on Cohort StudiesHIV, Modelling, MethodologyTB and Migration

Other research from IGH in Europe, the UKDenmark, France, Belarus, Belgium, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland