XClose

Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit

Home
Menu

People

The Unit consists of faculty members, postdoctoral fellows, PhD students and support staff.

Faculty

Maneesh Sahani

 

Maneesh Sahani

Director of the GCNU & Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience and Machine Learning

maneesh@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research spans work in both single-neuron and population-level neural data modelling, inferential theories of perception and learning in the brain, and related areas of machine learning.

Publications

Peter Latham

                           

Peter Latham

Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience

pel@gatsby.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research focuses on understanding how biologically realistic networks carry out computations. More specifically, my goal is to understand how connectivity and single neuron properties determine the ability of a network to perform computations, and how synaptic learning rules, single neuron properties, and patterns of input determine connectivity.

Publications

Arthur Gretton

                        

Arthur Gretton

Professor of Machine Learning 

a.gretton@ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

 A key component of Artificial Intelligence (AI) systems is the capacity to reason about distributions of real-world objects such as images, text, or high-dimensional sequences. My research addresses two core aspects of this goal: the ability to learn structured models that generate faithful samples of such real-world entities, and the ability to reason about and test properties of high-dimensional naturalistic distributions.

Publications

Orbanz

Peter Orbanz

Associate Professor of Machine Learning 

porbanz@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research interests

I study network and relational data, Bayesian nonparametrics, and exchangeability and symmetry properties. More generally, I am interested in all mathematical aspects of machine learning and pattern recognition.

Publications

 

Ferenc Huszar

Part-time Honorary Lecturer
 

Matthew Botvinick 

Honorary Professor 

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Dario Campagner
Dario Campagner
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow
d.campagner@ucl.ac.uk

Mehrdad Salmasi
George Dimitriadis
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow 
g.dimitriadis@ucl.ac.uk

                   

Mehrdad Salmasi
Sanjukta Krishnagopal
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience
s.krishnagopal@ucl.ac.uk

 


Grace Lindsay
Grace Lindsay
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow
g.lindsay@ucl.ac.uk

ryan_low
Ryan Low
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow
ucqfrlo@ucl.ac.uk

Francesca Mastrogiuseppe
Francesca Mastrogiuseppe
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience
f.mastrogiuseppe@ucl.ac.uk

Joaquin Rapela
Joaquin Rapela 
Research Engineer Fellow
j.rapela@ucl.ac.uk

                     

 

Mehrdad Salmasi
Mehrdad Salmasi
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience
m.salmasi@ucl.ac.uk

               

PhD Students

Alex Antrobus
Alex Antrobus
alexander.antrobus.15@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Latham Group

Michael Arbel
Michael Arbel
m.arbel.16@ucl.ac.uk
Arthur Gretton Group

Franziska B
Franziska Broeker
franziska.broeker.15@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Dayan Group (external)
 

Heishiro Kanawaga
Rodrigo Carrasco
 
1st year PhD student

Clementine Domine
 
1st Year PhD student

Heishiro Kanawaga
William Dorrell
 
1st Year PhD student

Lea Duncker
Lea Duncker
lea.duncker.11@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group
 

Kevin Huang
 
1st year PhD student
 

Heishiro Kanawaga
Heishiro Kanawaga
heishiro.kanawaga.17@ucl.ac.uk
Arthur Gretton Group

Ilyes Khemakhem
Ilyes Khemakhem
ilyes.khemakhem.17@ucl.ac.uk
Aapo Hyvarinen Group (external)

Kevin Li
Kevin Li
w.li.15@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group

Theodore Moskovitz
Theodore Moskovitz 
theodore.moskovitz.19@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group
 

Roman Pogodin
Roman Pogodin
roman.pogodin.17@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Latham Group
 

Virginia Rutten
Virginia Rutten
virginie.rutten.17@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group
 

Lucas Simoes
Lucas Simoes
l.simoes.18@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Latham Group

Hugo Soulat
Hugo Soulat
hugo.soulat.19@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group
 

William Walker
William Walker
william.walker.18@ucl.ac.uk
Maneesh Sahani Group

Liyuan Xu
Liyuan Xu
liyuan.jo.18@ucl.ac.uk
Arthur Gretton Group

Wenkai Xu
Wenkai Xu
wenkai.xu.16@ucl.ac.uk
Arthur Gretton Group
 

Liang Zhou
Liang Zhou 
liang.zhou.18@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Latham Group

Jorge Menendez
Jorge Menendez Canelas
jorge.menendez.15@ucl.ac.uk
Peter Latham Group

 

 

 

External PhD Students

Iryna Korshunova
Visiting PhD Student in Machine Learning

Yahze Li
DeepMind PhD Student

Mihaela Rosca
DeepMind PhD Student

Jonathan Schwarz
DeepMind PhD Student

 

Support Staff

Ana Saraiva Ayash

Ana Saraiva Ayash

Scientific Programme Manager

a.saraiva@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to scientific collaborations and research opportunities, public engagement and joint workshop proposals, the Gatsby PhD programme, and anything related to scientific relations. 

Mike Sainsbury

Mike Sainsbury

Administrative Manager

m.sainsbury@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to managerial support, including HR, finance, and research management. 

Barry Fong

Barry Fong

Administrative Assistant

b.fong@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for general administration queries, including room bookings, mailing lists, events and external seminars.  

 

The Greater Gatsby (Alumni)

See a comprehensive list of previous Faculty, Postdoctoral Fellows and PhD Students.