XClose

Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit

Home
Menu

People

Faculty

Maneesh Sahani

 

Director and Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience and Machine Learning

Maneesh Sahani
maneesh@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research spans work in both single-neuron and population-level neural data modelling, inferential theories of perception and learning in the brain, and related areas of machine learning. Publications

Peter Latham

                           

Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience

Peter Latham
pel@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research focuses on understanding how biologically realistic networks carry out computations. More specifically, my goal is to understand how connectivity and single neuron properties determine the ability of a network to perform computations, and how synaptic learning rules, single neuron properties, and patterns of input determine connectivity. Publications

Arthur Gretton

                        

Professor of Machine Learning 

Arthur Gretton
a.gretton@ucl.ac.uk 

Research Interests

 A key component of AI systems is the capacity to reason about distributions of real-world objects such as images, text or high-dimensional sequences. My research addresses two core aspects of this: the ability to learn structured models that generate faithful samples of such real-world entities; the ability to reason about and test properties of high-dimensional naturalistic distributions. Publications

Orbanz

Professor of Machine Learning 

Peter Orbanz
porbanz@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research interests

I study network and relational data, Bayesian nonparametrics, and exchangeability and symmetry properties. More generally, I am interested in all mathematical aspects of machine learning and pattern recognition. Publications

andrew_Saxe
Group Leader in Machine Learning applied to Neuroscience (Jointly with SWC)

Andrew Saxe 
a.saxe@ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests 

We aim to develop a mathematical toolkit suitable for analyzing and describing learning in the brain and mind. Publications

Ferenc
Part-time Honorary Lecturer (Senior Lecturer in Machine Learning at the University of Cambridge)

Ferenc Huszar

Research Interests

I study and develop principles for learning from data, with a particular focus on deep/overparametrized models. I’m interested in representation learning, generalization, optimization and probabilistic foundations.

Naoki Hiratani
Honorary Professor (Director of Neuroscience Research at DeepMind)

Matthew Botvinick

Postdoctoral Fellows
Jaweria Amjad
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

Jaweria Amjad
jaweria.amjad@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

Brendan Bicknell
b.bicknell@ucl.ac.uk

Dario Campagner
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow

Dario Campagner 
d.campagner@ucl.ac.uk

 
George Dimitriadis
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow

George Dimitriadis
g.dimitriadis@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Machine Learning

Lee Gunderson 
l.gunderson@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow (Jointly with SWC)

Sam Lewallen 
s.lewallen@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Machine Learning

Zhu (Michael) Li 
zhu.li@ucl.ac.uk

Ryan Low
GCNU-SWC Research Fellow

Ryan Low
ucqfrlo@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

Marcel Nonnenmacher 
m.nonnenmacher@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

Alberto Pezzotta
a.pezzotta@ucl.ac.uk

Joaquin Rapela
Research Engineer Fellow

Joaquin Rapela
j.rapela@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani
Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

Mehrdad Salmasi
m.salmasi@ucl.ac.uk

stefano_mannellii
Research Fellow (Jointly with SWC)

Stefano Sarao Mannelli
s.saraomannelli@ucl.ac.uk

Erin Grant
Research Fellow (Jointly with SWC)

Erin Grant
erin.grant@ucl.ac.uk

PhD Students
avatar

Heishiro Kanagawa
heishiro.kanagawa.17@ucl.ac.uk

Gretton Group
Roman Pogodin

Roman Pogodin
roman.pogodin.17@ucl.ac.uk

Latham Group
Virginia Rutten

Virginia Rutten
virginie.rutten.17@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group / Janelia
Lucas Simoes

Lucas Simoes
l.simoes.18@ucl.ac.uk

Latham Group
William Walker

William Walker
william.walker.18@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group
Liang Zhou

Liang Zhou
liang.zhou.18@ucl.ac.uk

Latham Group
Theodore Moskovitz

Theodore Moskovitz
theodore.moskovitz.19@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group
Hugo Soulat

Hugo Soulat
hugo.soulat.19@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group
Liyuan Xu

Liyuan Xu
liyuan.jo.19@ucl.ac.uk

Gretton Group
avatar

Rodrigo Carrasco
rodrigo.cd.20@ucl.ac.uk

Saxe Group
Clementine Domine

Clementine Domine
clementine.domine.20@ucl.ac.uk

Saxe Group
will_round

William Dorrell
william.dorrell.20@ucl.ac.uk

Latham Group
Kevin_Huang

Kevin Huang
han.huang.20@ucl.ac.uk

Orbanz Group
avatar

Pierre Glaser
pierre.glaser.20@ucl.ac.uk

Gretton Group
Kira Dusterwald

Kira Dusterwald
kira.dusterwald.21@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group
Samo Hromadka

Samo Hromadka
samo.hromadka.21@ucl.ac.uk

Sahani Group
dimitri meunier

Dimitri Meunier
dimitri.meunier.21@ucl.ac.uk

Gretton Group
Aaditya

Aaditya Singh
aaditya.singh.21@ucl.ac.uk

Saxe Group
Hugh Dance

Hugh Dance
hugh.dance.15@ucl.ac.uk

1st Year
Mohadeseh Shafiei Kafraj

Mohadeseh Shafiei Kafraj
mohadeseh.kafraj.22@ucl.ac.uk

1st Year
Cameron Stewart

Cameron Stewart
cameron.stewart.22@ucl.ac.uk

1st Year
Loek van Rossem

Loek van Rossem
loek.rossem.22@ucl.ac.uk

1st Year
avatar

Yedi Zhang
yedi.zhang.22@ucl.ac.uk

1st Year
 
External
PhD Student, DeepMind

Yahze LiJonathan Schwarz

PhD Student, Foundational AI CDT

Antonin Schrab

SCGB Undergraduate Research Fellow

Andrada Maria MaricaPaul Oakehalam, Aishah QureshiMaria Yuffa

 

Professional Services Staff
I-Chun
Scientific Programme Manager

I-Chun Lin
i.lin@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to the Gatsby PhD programme, research collaborations and opportunities, proposals for joint workshops, outreach and public engagement activities, and anything related to scientific affairs.

Mike Sainsbury

Administrative Manager

Mike Sainsbury
m.sainsbury@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to managerial support, including HR, finance, and research management. 

Naoki Hiratani

Administrative Assistant

Barry Fong
b.fong@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for general administration queries, including room bookings, mailing lists, events and external seminars, and alumni information update.  

 

Naoki Hiratani
Head of Scientific Computing (Jointly with SWC)

John Pelan
j.pelan@ucl.ac.uk

 

Richard Mumba

IT Relationship Manager (Jointly with SWC)

Richard Mumba
r.mumba@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Tom Hampson

Computer Officer (Jointly with SWC)

Tom Hampson
t.hampson@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Naoki Hiratani
Senior Systems Administrator (Jointly with SWC)

Alex Martin
alex.martin@ucl.ac.uk

Adam Tyson

Head Research Engineer (Jointly with SWC)

Adam Tyson
adam.tyson@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 See all our publications