XClose

Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit

Home
Menu

People

Faculty

Maneesh Sahani

 

Maneesh Sahani

Director of the Gatsby Unit & Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience and Machine Learning

maneesh@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research spans work in both single-neuron and population-level neural data modelling, inferential theories of perception and learning in the brain, and related areas of machine learning.

Publications

Peter Latham

                           

Peter Latham

Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience

pel@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

My research focuses on understanding how biologically realistic networks carry out computations. More specifically, my goal is to understand how connectivity and single neuron properties determine the ability of a network to perform computations, and how synaptic learning rules, single neuron properties, and patterns of input determine connectivity.

Publications

Arthur Gretton

                        

Arthur Gretton

Professor of Machine Learning 

a.gretton@ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests

 A key component of Artificial Intelligence (AI) systems is the capacity to reason about distributions of real-world objects such as images, text, or high-dimensional sequences. My research addresses two core aspects of this goal: the ability to learn structured models that generate faithful samples of such real-world entities, and the ability to reason about and test properties of high-dimensional naturalistic distributions.

Publications

Orbanz

Peter Orbanz

Professor of Machine Learning 

porbanz@gatsby.ucl.ac.uk

Research interests

I study network and relational data, Bayesian nonparametrics, and exchangeability and symmetry properties. More generally, I am interested in all mathematical aspects of machine learning and pattern recognition.

Publications

andrew_Saxe

Andrew Saxe 

Group Leader in Machine Learning applied to Neuroscience (Jointly with SWC)

a.saxe@ucl.ac.uk

Research Interests 

We aim to develop a mathematical toolkit suitable for analyzing and describing learning in the brain and mind. 

Ferenc

Ferenc Huszar

Part-time Honorary Lecturer

 

Research Interests

I study and develop principles for learning from data, with a particular focus on deep/overparametrized models. I’m interested in representation learning, generalization, optimization and probabilistic foundations.

 

Matthew Botvinick 

Honorary Professor & Director of Neuroscience Research at DeepMind

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Jaweria Amjad

Naoki Hiratani
Dario Campagner
George Dimitriadis

Jaweria Amjad

Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

jaweria.amjad@ucl.ac.uk

Brendan Bicknell

Research Fellow in Machine Learning

b.bicknell@ucl.ac.uk

Dario Campagner

Gatsby Unit-SWC Research Fellow

d.campagner@ucl.ac.uk

George Dimitriadis

Gatsby Unit-SWC Research Fellow

g.dimitriadis@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani

Naoki Hiratani
ryan_low
Naoki Hiratani

Lee Gunderson

Research Fellow in Machine Learning

l.gunderson@ucl.ac.uk

Zhu (Michael) Li

Research Fellow in Machine Learning

zhu.li@ucl.ac.uk

Ryan Low

Gatsby Unit-SWC Research Fellow

ucqfrlo@ucl.ac.uk

Marcel Nonnenmacher

Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

m.nonnenmacher@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani

Joaquin Rapela
Naoki Hiratani
stefano_mannellii

Alberto Pezzotta

Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

a.pezzotta@ucl.ac.uk

Joaquin Rapela

Research Engineer Fellow

j.rapela@ucl.ac.uk

Mehrdad Salmasi

Research Fellow in Theoretical Neuroscience

m.salmasi@ucl.ac.uk

Stefano Sarao Mannelli

Research Fellow

s.saraomannelli@ucl.ac.uk

PhD Students

Franziska B

Naoki Hiratani

clem_domine

will_round

Franziska Broeker

Peter Dayan Group (external)

franziska.broeker.15@ucl.ac.uk

Rodrigo Carrasco

Andrew Saxe Group

rodrigo.cd.20@ucl.ac.uk

Clementine Domine

Andrew Saxe Group

clementine.domine.20@ucl.ac.uk

William Dorrell

Peter Latham Group

william.dorrell.20@ucl.ac.uk

Kira Dusterwald
Naoki Hiratani
Samo Hromadka
Kevin_Huang

Kira Dusterwald

1st Year

kira.dusterwald.21@ucl.ac.uk

Pierre Glaser

Arthur Gretton Group

pierre.glaser.20@ucl.ac.uk

Samo Hromadka

1st Year

samo.hromadka.21@ucl.ac.uk

Kevin Huang

Peter Orbanz Group

han.huang.20@ucl.ac.uk

Naoki Hiratani

dimitri meunier

Theodore Moskovitz

Roman Pogodin

Heishiro Kanagawa

Arthur Gretton Group

heishiro.kanagawa.17@ucl.ac.uk

Dimitri Meunier

1st Year

d.dimitri.meunier.21@ucl.ac.uk

Theodore Moskovitz

Maneesh Sahani Group

theodore.moskovitz.19@ucl.ac.uk

Roman Pogodin

Peter Latham Group

roman.pogodin.17@ucl.ac.uk

Virginia Rutten

Lucas Simoes

Aaditya

Hugo Soulat

Virginia Rutten

Maneesh Sahani Group / Janelia

virginie.rutten.17@ucl.ac.uk

Lucas Simoes

Peter Latham Group

l.simoes.18@ucl.ac.uk

Aaditya Singh

1st Year

aaditya.singh.21@ucl.ac.uk

Hugo Soulat

Maneesh Sahani Group

hugo.soulat.19@ucl.ac.uk

William Walker

Liyuan Xu

Liang Zhou
 

William Walker

Maneesh Sahani Group

william.walker.18@ucl.ac.uk

Liyuan Xu

Arthur Gretton Group

liyuan.jo.19@ucl.ac.uk

Liang Zhou

Peter Latham Group

liang.zhou.18@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

External PhD Students

Yahze Li

DeepMind PhD Student

Jonathan Schwarz

DeepMind PhD Student

Antonin Schrab

Foundational AI CDT PhD Student
 

Simons Undegraduate Research Fellows 

Paul Oakehalam 

Aishah QureshiAndrada Maria MaricaMaria Yuffa 
 
Professional Services Staff
I-Chun

I-Chun Lin

Scientific Programme Manager

i.lin@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to scientific collaborations and research opportunities, public engagement and joint workshop proposals, the Gatsby PhD programme, and anything related to scientific affairs. 

Mike Sainsbury

Mike Sainsbury

Administrative Manager

m.sainsbury@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for queries related to managerial support, including HR, finance, and research management. 

Naoki Hiratani

Barry Fong

Administrative Assistant

b.fong@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for general administration queries, including room bookings, mailing lists, events and external seminars.  

 

Naoki Hiratani

Richard Mumba

IT Relationship Manager

r.mumba@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Naoki Hiratani

Tom Hampson

Computer Officer

t.hampson@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Naoki Hiratani

Yousuf Hussain

Computer Officer

y.hussain@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

The Greater Gatsby (Alumni)

See a comprehensive list of previous Faculty, Postdoctoral Fellows and PhD Students.