XClose

History of Art

Home
Menu

Full Events Programme 2023-24

This page lists all of the department's scheduled upcoming events.

two women look at a piece of art on the wall

Below you can find a full events calendar which details upcoming events planned in the department. Please note that this is a provisional schedule and is subject to change. 

2023-2024 Academic Year 
 

Term 3

APRIL 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Monday 29 April, 3pmGroup visit to ‘Some May Work as Symbols: Art Made in Brazil, 1950s–70s’CSCA

Full details TBC - RSVP required

Raven Row

Tuesday 30 April, 4:30-5:30pmCSCA Steering Committee meeting CSCAB03, 20 Gordon Square
Tuesday 30 April, 13:00-14:30Brown Bag Lunch with Rose Marie San Juan Brown Bag Lunch

Full details 

104, 21 Gordon Square

Open to UCL History of Art staff only. 

Tuesday 30 April, 18:00-21:00Inaugural Lecture: Richard TawsInaugural Lecture

Full details 

Gustave Tuck (18:30-19:30)

Followed by a reception in the North Cloisters (19:30-21:00)

MAY 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Tuesday 7 May, 17:30-19:30CSCA Screening: DutchmanCSCA

Full details

G06, 21 Gordon Square

Thursday 9 May, 18:00-21:00CANCELLED: Nikos Stangos Lecture: Lesley LokkoNikos Stangos Memorial Lecture

Full details 

Lecture: B40, Darwin Lecture Theater (18:00-19:30)

Reception: North Cloisters (19:30-21:00)

Tuesday 14 May, 3pmIntroduction to ‘Unravel’ with curator Wells Fray-SmithCSCA

Full details TBC - RSVP required

Barbican Centre

Thursday 16 May, 18:00-20:00Research Seminar: Ünver RüstemResearch Seminar

Full details

IAS Forum

Tuesday 21 May, 18:00-21:00

Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship: Jennifer Nelson - Lecture 1

Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship

Full details

Lecture: Roberts Building G06 Sir Ambrose Fleming LT (18:00-19:30)

Reception: G02 Foyer, Roberts Building (19:30-21:00)

Wednesday 22 May, 12:00-14:00Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship PGR Seminar Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship

Link above

Seminar Rooms 3 and 4, 20 Gordon Square

Thursday 23 May, 18:00-20:00Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship: Jennifer Nelson - Lecture 2Tomás Harris Visiting Professorship

Link above

Roberts Building G06 Sir Ambrose Fleming LT 

Wednesday 29 May, 18:15-20:15Larne Abse Gogarty on Figuration, with Madelynn Green and Jenny NachtigallCSCA

Full details 

101-102, 20 Gordon Square

JUNE - JULY 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Thursday 6 June, 6pm-8pmRachel Haidu on Each One Another: The Self in Contemporary Art, with Briony Fer and Jenny NachtigallCSCA

Full details 

IAS Forum

Friday 14 June: 6pm-8pm.

Saturday 15 June 15: 10am-5pm, to be followed by a reception

Not Now: Modernism, Nativism and Fascism in American Art and Culture (Symposium)

 

CSCA

Full details

Friday 14 June: Gustave Tuck (6pm-8pm)

Saturday 15 June 15: Gustave Tuck (10am-5pm) and South Cloisters (5-7pm)

22 - 26 July, 14:30-16:30History of Art Widening Participation Summer SchoolEDI

Full details

Via Zoom or 102, 20 Gordon Square

Term 2

JANUARY 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Thursday 11 January, 17:00-19:00Three Films on CinematographyCSCA

Full details

IAS Forum

Monday 15 January, 18:00-20:00IAS Book Launch: The Market Photo Workshop in South Africa and the 'Born Free' GenerationIAS

Full details

IAS Forum

Wednesday 24 January, 16:30-18:30Research Seminar: Gavin ButtResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum 

FEBRUARY 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Wednesday 21 February, 18:00-20:00CSCA Workshop: Sarah Lucas and PsychoanalysisCSCA

Full details 

IAS Forum

Wednesday 28 February, 13:00-14:30Brown Bag Lunch with Cadence KinseyBrown Bag Lunch

B03, 20 Gordon Square

Open to UCL History of Art staff only. 

Thursday 29 February, 18:00-20:00Research Seminar: Theo GordonResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum

MARCH 2024

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Tuesday 5 March, 18:00-20:00Buster Keaton on SculptureCSCA

Full details

IAS Forum

Wednesday 6 March, 14:00-16:00Art History Alumni RoundtableAd Hoc

Wilkins Garden Room

Career advice directly from three UCL History of Art alumni who have pursued interesting careers after earning their degrees in our department.

Thursday 7 March, 18:00-20:00Research Seminar: Tom YoungResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum 

Monday 11 March, 12:00-13:00Past Imperfect Potluck: Violence and Peace Within ViolencePast Imperfect

Full details

IAS Forum

Wednesday 13 March, 13:00-14:30

Brown Bag Lunch with Richard Taws

Brown Bag Lunch

B03, 20 Gordon Square

Open to UCL History of Art staff only. 

Thursday 14 March, 18:15-20:15Research Seminar: Amy TobinResearch Seminar

Full details 

Room 101, 20 Gordon Square

Term 1

OCTOBER 2023

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Monday 9 October, 18:00-21:00Violence and the Visual Image: A Discussion around Violence and the Genesis of the Anatomical Image by Rose Marie San Juan. 
 
Past Imperfect

Full details.

Room 105 (Sem 6), 21 Gordon Square

Tuesday 10 October, 16:00-21:00CSCA Steering Committee meeting CSCA

B03, 20 Gordon Square

Wednesday 11 October, 17:30-19:30Research Seminar with Heather PulliamResearch Seminar

Full details.

IAS Forum

Wednesday 18th October, 15:00-17:00Anna Mladentseva: PhD Upgrade - 'Moving Across Scales: Theoretical Considerations in the Conservation of WeChat'PhD UpgradeSeminar Room 6, 21 Gordon Square
Tuesday 24 October, 18:00-20:00POSTPONED: Renée Mussai in Conversation with Tamar Garb
Unfortunately, we have had to cancel the Curatorial Conversation with Tamar Garb and Rene Mussai on Tuesday 24 October. The event will be rearranged for a later date.
CSCA

POSTPONED

Wednesday 25 October, 15:30-17:30Elsa Perryman Owens: PhD Upgrade - ‘Melted, Singed, Incinerated, Saved: Catastrophe and the Non-Human in The Great Fire of London'PhD UpgradeSeminar Room 6, 21 Gordon Square

 

NOVEMBER 2023

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking
Wednesday 1 November, 17:30-19:30Research Seminar with Anita HosseiniResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum

Wednesday 8 November, 10:00-17:00Jonathan Kemp lecture (10-11am) and workshop (12-5pm)Ad hocFull details

Room 102, 20 Gordon Square
 
Thursday 9 November, 10:00-17:00Jonathan Kemp workshopAd hocFull details

Room 102, 20 Gordon Square
 
Monday 13 November, 17:00-19:00Technological Imaginaries: Medieval Artists, Manuscripts, and War with Dr. Lauren Rozenberg and Dr. Jess BaileyPast Imperfect

Full details

IAS Forum

Tuesday 14 November, 18:00-20:00Curatorial Conversations: Adomas Narkevičius and Cell Project Space CSCA

Full details 

IAS Forum

Wednesday 15 November, 17:30-20:00Research Seminar with Scott NethersoleResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum

Monday 20 November, 12:00-13:00CANCELLED: Past Imperfect Potluck: Peace Within ViolencePast Imperfect

CANCELLED

Tuesday 21 November, 12:00Nicole Eisenman and figurationCSCA

Full details TBC

Whitechapel Gallery

Wednesday 22 November, 13:00-14:30Brown Bag Lunch with Jacopo GnisciBrown Bag Lunch

Full details 

Open to UCL History of Art staff only. 

Wednesday 22 November, 17:30-19:30Research Seminar with Andrei PopResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum

Thursday 23 November, 17:30-19:30Tamar Garb and Mary Evans in conversation CSCA

Full details 

IAS forum

Tuesday 28 November, 16:00-18:00Studio visit with Michael Mandiberg CSCA

Full details 

B03, 20 Gordon Square

Wednesday 29 November, 17:30-19:30Research Seminar with Mark CrinsonResearch Seminar

Full details 

IAS Forum

DECEMBER 2023 

Date & TimeEvent TitleEvent Series More Info & Booking

Friday 1 December

POSTPONED - Group visit to the exhibition of Brazilian artist Helio Oiticica CSCA

Postponed to Friday 15 December.

Monday 4 December, 18:00-20:00IAS Book Launch: The Culture of the Case - Frederic J. SchwartzIAS

Full details

IAS Forum

Friday 15 DecemberCSCA group visit to the exhibition of Brazilian artist Helio Oiticica CSCA

Full details TBC

De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea.

If you’re not currently a member of staff or student in the UCL History of Art department and would like to be added to our events mailing list, please email Queenie Lee.