UCL Alumni


Alumni recognised in the King's New Year Honours list

5 January 2023

Congratulations to all the UCL alumni who have been named in the 2023 New Year Honours.

UCL alumni Dr Julia Katherine Maxton and Professor Christopher Stringer

Image: Dr Julia Katherine Maxton DBE and Professor Christopher Stringer CBE

Twenty-four distinguished UCL alumni have been recognised in the Kings’ 2023 New Year Honours list for their extraordinary contributions to society.

Among them are inspiring and dedicated scientists, educators and journalists.

Dame of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE)

Dr Julia Katherine Maxton CBE (LLB Law 1976) was awarded Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for services to science and to the law. Dr Maxton is the Executive Director of the Royal Society, the first woman in 350 years to hold the post. While at the society, she has been the driving force in establishing the science and the law programme, which brings scientists and members of the judiciary together to discuss and debate key areas of common interest and ensure the best scientific guidance is available to the courts.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Christopher Stringer (PhD Anthropology 1969), physical anthropologist and Honorary Professor at UCL Institute of Archaeology, has been awarded a CBE for services to the understanding of human evolution. His work has transformed scientific and public understanding of human evolution and modern human origins.

Professor Stringer, who is also Research Leader in Human Evolution at the Natural History Museum, said: “I'm delighted to be awarded the CBE and accept this as an honour not just for me but for all the people I've worked with on human evolution studies over the last 50 years or so, both within and outside the Natural History Museum.”

Dr Mary Elizabeth Booth Ramsay (MBBS Clinical 1985), Consultant Epidemiologist and Head of the Immunisation, Hepatitis and Blood Safety department at the UK Health Security Agency, has been awarded a CBE for services to public health. She has been responsible for the national surveillance of vaccine-preventable diseases since 1994, and since 2013, has taken on additional responsibilities for the implementation of all vaccine programmes and the secretariat to the UK’s Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation.

Andrea Helen Ledward (MSc Medical Anthropology 1997), International Biodiversity and Climate Director at the UK Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, was awarded a CBE for services to the environment. Her work involves reversing biodiversity loss, restoring ecosystems, tackling climate change and contributing to global poverty reduction.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Robert John Emlyn Evans (BEd Education 1978; MA History of Education 1993), Member, Surrey County Council, awarded an OBE for political and public service.

Mouhssin Ismail (PGCE Business and Economics Education, 2007), Regional Director & Executive Principal at STAR Academies and former Principal, Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre, London Borough of Newham, awarded an OBE for services to education.

Sarah Williams (BA History 1981), Chief Executive at Staffordshire Chambers of Commerce. Awarded for services to the community in Staffordshire.

Jenny Vaughan (MPhil Medicine 2001) Consultant Neurologist, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust. Awarded for services to healthcare.

Paula Holland (Affiliate Special Course 2016) Deputy Director, Work and Health Decision Making, Department for Work and Pensions. Awarded for public service.

Fiona Boulton (MA Education Management), Headteacher, Guildford High School. Awarded for services to education.

Nishi Chaturvedi, Professor of Clinical Epidemiology and Director, Lifelong Health and Ageing Unit at UCL. Awarded for services to medical research.

Jill Baker (Grad Cert (Ed Leadership Devt & Consult) 2005) was the former executive headteacher at Eastbrook School in the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham. Awarded for services to education.

Jonathan Waxman (BSc Biochemistry 1972; MBBS Medicine 1975) is the founder and President of Prostate Cancer UK. As a clinician, he has helped develop new cancer treatments that are now part of standard practice. Awarded for services to prostate cancer awareness and treatment.

Dr Naomi Esther Katz Sacks (MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 2002), Clinical Director, West Hill Health Primary Care Network, awarded an MBE for services during Covid-19.

Medal of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Professor Isobel Heyman (BSc Pharmacology 1982; MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 1997), Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist at Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children (GOSH). Awarded for services to child and adolescent mental health services.

Zoey Dixon (MA Library and Information Studies 2013), Library Hubs Manager at Lambeth Council, who has been a leading light in making libraries more accessible, both before and during Covid, has been awarded an MBE for services to public libraries.

Catherine Belton (MA Slavonic & East European Studies 1998), Russian reporter for the Washington Post. Awarded for services to journalism.

Dr Minal Bakhai (MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 2006), General Practitioner and Director for Primary Care Transformation at NHS England. Awarded for services to general practice, particularly during Covid-19.

Betsey Lau-Robinson (PG Dip (Education) 2012), Head of Adult Safeguarding and the Mental Health Capacity Act, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Awarded for services to patient safeguarding.

Professor Pamela Robertson (History of Art 1976), Curator at the Hunterian Art Gallery, University of Glasgow. Awarded for services to architecture.

Anne Tallentire (Slade School of Fine Art 1988), artist and teacher. For services to the arts.

Linda Rosenblatt (MA Hebrew and Jewish Studies 2004), Chair of the World Jewish Relief Connections Committee. Awarded for services to charity in the UK and abroad.

Catherine Lee (PhD/MPhil Education 2013), Professor of Inclusive Education and Leadership and Deputy Dean for Education, Anglia Ruskin University. Awarded for services to equality in education.

James Alexander (BEng Civil Engineering 1992), Chair of the Suffolk Wildlife Trust, awarded for outstanding volunteer services to the natural environment.

Pouria Hadjibagheri (BSc Molecular Biology 2016), Technical and Development Lead for the Coronavirus Dashboard, UK Health Security Agency. For services to data transparency during Covid-19.

Dr Naomi Esther Katz Sacks (MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 2002), Clinical Director, West Hill Health Primary Care Network, awarded an MBE for services during Covid-19.



(L) Dr Julia Katherine Maxton CBE (the Royal Society) and (R) Professor Christopher Stringer (the Royal Society)