Current PhD Students

Note: email addresses end in @ucl.ac.uk

Name Email
 Topic Principal Supervisor
Serhat Akhanli
serhat.akhanli.14
Analysis and clustering of football player performance data Dr Christian Hennig
Matthew Ames
m.ames.12
Investigating multivariate tail dependence in currency carry trade portfolios via copula models Dr Gareth Peters
William Barcella william.barcella.13
Bayesian nonparametric modelling with medical applications Professor Maria De Iorio
Clair Barnes  clair.barnes.16 Uncertainty in ensembles of models, with applications to weather and climate Professor Richard Chandler
Rui Barrigana Ramos Da Costa rui.costa.11
Extending the 'isolation-with-migration' (IM) model (coalescent theory)
Dr Hilde Wilkinson-Herbots
Fatima Batool
fatima.batool.14
The use of validation indexes for estimating the number of clusters Dr Christian Hennig
Marta Campi  marta.campi.15 Topics in non-stationary multivariate basis decompositions and heavy tailed processes Dr Gareth Peters
Jacopo Capra
jacopo.capra.15
Portfolio construction with macro views Professor Petros Dellaportas
Rafael Carmo rafael.carmo.13
Network models of longitudinal data Dr Ricardo Silva
Khalim Conn-Kowlessar
khalim.conn-kowlessar.14
Statistical modelling for customer analytics Dr Giampiero Marra
Chenhao Cui chenhao.cui.14
Statistical methodology for calibrating single kernel spectroscopy Professor Tom Fearn
Antonio Dalessandro antonio.dalessandro.12
Tensor methods for generalised diffusions Dr Gareth Peters
Robinson Dettoni Hidalgo  r.dettoni@ucl.ac.uk Semi-nonparametric estimation of copula regression models Dr Giampiero Marra
Fabio Dias
fabio.dias.15
Statistical classification models for currencies and equity indices Dr Franz Király
Tao Ding tao.ding.11
Health economic evaluation of Polycystic ovary syndrome Dr Gianluca Baio
Mingzhi Dong mingzhi.dong.13
Robust localised learning for classification Dr Jinghao Xue
Michael Duong
michael.duong.10
Bayesian estimation of correlated multivariate change point configurations Dr Gordon Ross
Javier Espinosa Brito  javier.brito.14 The treatment of ordinal data in multivariate data analysis with application to Chilean poverty data Dr Christian Hennig
Reid Farah reid.farah.11
Risk modeling, portfolio construction and analytics Mr Dieter Girmes
Bryan Feeney bryan.feeney
Probabilistic models for adaptive content creation
Dr Ricardo Silva
Panagiota Filippou panagiota.filippou.12
Estimation of semiparametric trivariate models in the presence of endogeneity and sample selection
Dr Giampiero Marra
Neil Foster
neil.foster.15
Methods for partially observed stochastic differential equations Dr Alexandros Beskos
Beate Franke beate.franke.12
Inference for networks
Professor Patrick Wolfe
Andrea Gabrio
andrea.gabrio.15
Full Bayesian methods to handle missing data in health economic evaluations Dr Gianluca Baio
Dan Georgescu  dan.georgescu.16 Correlation completion and insurance Dr Gareth Peters
Alex Gibberd
alexander.gibberd.12 Sparse, graphical methods for learning over networks  
Arthur Guillaumin arthur.guillaumin.14
Modeling multiple non-stationary time series Professor Sofia Olhede
Katrin Haeussler k.haeussler
Health economic evaluation of human papillomavirus vaccination Dr Gianluca Baio
Fredrik Hallgren
carl.hallgren.15
Big data problems in financial modelling Dr Franz Király
Anthony Hatswell anthony.hatswell.13
A modelling framework for estimation of benefit using single arm clinical trials Dr Gianluca Baio
Anna Heath anna.heath.14 Bayesian computations for the expected value of partial information for health economic evaluation using Gaussian processes and INLA Dr Gianluca Baio
Marcel Hirt marcel.hirt.16 Price impact in high frequency markets Professor Petros Dellaportas
Tjun Yee Hoh tjun.hoh.10
Non-parametric inference​ for stochastic differential equations
Dr Yvo Pokern
Maryam Ilyas maryam.ilyas.14
Novel empirical orthogonal functions for the study of uncertainties in past climate patterns Professor Serge Guillas
Agne Kazakeviciute a.kazakeviciute.12
Functional data analysis for spectroscopic and imaging data Dr Jinghao Xue
Peter Kenny peter.kenny.14
Multivariate analysis of X-ray diffraction data for investigating chemical structure and identifying materials
Professor Tom Fearn
Mital Kinderkhedia mital.kinderkhedia.10 Learning representations of graph-structured data Dr Ricardo Silva
Aleksandar Kolev  aleksandar.kolev.15 Hazard modelling and risk quantification Dr Gordon Ross
Eleftheria Kotti e.kotti.12
Statistical methods for infrared spectroscopic clinical diagnostics
Professor Tom Fearn
Sophia Kyriakou sophia.kyriakou.14
Estimation and inference for generalized linear mixed effects models Dr Ioannis Kosmidis
Yurong Ling  yurong.ling.16 Functional imbalanced learning Dr Jinghao Xue
Xiaoke Liu
xiaoke.liu.14
Classification with high-dimensional data Professor Tom Fearn
Xiaoyu Liu
xiaoyu.liu.12
Spatial uncertainties in a tsunami model: from bathymetry to run-ups
Professor Serge Guillas
Xiaoou Lu
xiaoou.lu.13
Compositional data analysis and dimension reduction Dr Jinghao Xue
Robson Mariano Machado
robson.machado.14
Functional forms for transition intensities in multi-state models Dr Ardo van den Hout
Dean Markwick  dean.markwick.15 Bayesian analysis of point processes with applications to finance Dr Gordon Ross
Theodoros Mathikolonis
theodoros.mathikolonis.13
Multivariate emulation of complex computer models: application to tsunami hazard modelling Professor Serge Guillas
Deyu Ming  deyu.ming.16 Catastrophe bond pricing, structuring and earthquake simulation models Dr Gareth Peters
Marco Molinari marco.molinari.16 Bayesian methods for variable selection and detection of underlying pattern in metabolomics and genomics field Professor Maria De Iorio
Jonathan Murray james.murray.16 Asset allocation methods and portfolio analytics Dr Gareth Peters
Rickard Nakamura Brännvall
rickard.brannvall.15
Stochastic models for interest rates
Dr Gareth Peters
Santhosh Narayanan  santhosh.narayanan.16 Stochastic processes for the modelling of event-sequence data in sports Dr Ioannis Kosmidis
Caio Natividade
caio.natividade.11
Financial risk premium based on volatility surface models Mr Dieter Girmes
Yin Cheng Ng
y.ng.12
Large-scale hierarchical Bayesian modelling Dr Ricardo Silva
Aristeidis Panos
aristeidis.panos.15@ucl.ac.uk
Covariance kernels for big data Professor Petros Dellaportas
Marios Papamichalis
marios.papamichalis.11
Inference for networks Professor Patrick Wolfe
James Pitkin j.pitkin.12
Bayesian nonparametric modelling of phenomena in retail analytics
Dr Ioanna Manolopoulou
Georgios Ploumakis  georgios.ploumakis.16 Stochastic models on manifolds Professor Petros Dellaportas
Spyridon Poulimenos
spyridon.poulimenos.14
Bayesian methods in health economics: full Bayesian methods to model utility measures using mixture of distributions Dr Gianluca Baio
Jean-Baptiste Regli
jean-baptiste.regli.14
Computational statistics and spatial models  
Taylor Ruan  y.ruan.16 Supervised prediction for heteroscedastic noise and correlated data Dr Franz Király
Asma Saleh
asma.saleh.15
Estimation and inference in the presence of nuisance parameters Dr Ioannis Kosmidis
Darius Savory  darius.savory.16 Statistical modelling of extreme ocean environments for marine design Dr Paul Northrop
Iqbal Shamsudheen iqbal.shamsudheen.14
The performance of statistical inference after model checking Dr Christian Hennig
Khadijeh Taiyari
khadijeh.taiyari.10
How much data are required to validate a risk model?
Dr Gareth Ambler
Marta Tallarita  m.tallarita   Professor Maria De Iorio
Rodrigo Targino
r.targino.12
Advanced Monte Carlo methods for risk and insurance
Dr Gareth Peters
Huijie Tian hui.tian.14
Insurance Linked Securities Dr Gareth Peters
Dorota Toczydlowska dorota.toczydlowska.13 Robust statistics in state space models with functional regression Dr Gareth Peters
Nurul Toha  nurul.toha.15 Kernel methods for time series and functional features Dr Franz Király
Maria Toomik maria.toomik.14
Regularisation approaches to highly structured data  
Long Tran Viet
l.viet
Network models Professor Patrick Wolfe
Nikolaos Tsipinakis nikolaos.tsipinakis.14
Regularity and information filtering approaches to uncertainty management  
Alkeos Tsokos
alkeos.tsokos.10
Regression techniques for complex data settings with applications in sport Dr Ioannis Kosmidis
Miguel Valencia Garza m.garza.12
Multi-label learning with hierarchical modelling Dr Jinghao Xue
Victoria Vickerstaff v.vickerstaff
Assessment of the potential and implications of analysing multiple outcomes collected in clinical trials simultaneously using multivariate modelling
Professor Rumana Omar
Guy Vishnia guy.vishnia.12
Limit order book simulation models Dr Gareth Peters
Verena Viskovic verena.viskovic.13
Carbon leakage and how to reach 20-20-20 targets in South-Eastern Europe​ Dr Afzal Siddiqui
Ziyu Wang
ziyu.wang.12 Hyperspectral image analysis with multi-instance learning Dr Jinghao Xue
Xiaochen Yang  xiaochen.yang.16 Deep imbalanced learning Dr Jinghao Xue
Lifeng Ye  lifeng.ye.13 Bayesian methods for metabonomics Professor Maria De Iorio
Shouto Yonekura  shouto.yonekura.16 Bayesian model selection for diffusion models Dr Alexandros Beskos
Rui Zhu r.zhu.12
Reinforcing soft independent modelling of class analogies (SIMCA) Dr Jinghao Xue