Upcoming events:

Faculty

Dr. Ana Ferreira
Reader in Seismology
Founding member
Website here

Email: a.ferreira@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Nicolas Brantut
NERC Research Fellow / Lecturer
Founding member
Personal website here

Email: n.brantut at ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Tom Mitchell
Reader in Earthquake Geology and Rock Physics
Founding member
Personal website here

Email: tom.mitchell@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Teh-Ru Alex Song
Lecturer
Founding member

Email: alex.song@ucl.ac.uk

   
   
   

Dr. James Hammond
Lecturer, Birkbeck University

Email: james.hammond@bbk.ac.uk

   

Prof. Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni
Professor

Email: c.lithgow-bertelloni@ucl.ac.uk

   

Prof. Phil Meredith
Professor

Email: p.meredith@ucl.ac.uk

   

Prof. Gerald Roberts
Professor, Birkbeck University

Email: gerald.roberts@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

Postdoctoral Researchers

 

Dr. Lewis Schardong
NERC funded Postdoc (with Ana Ferreira)
Project: Imaging global 3-D attenuation in the Earth's mantle.

Personal website here

Email: l.schardong@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Emmanuel David

NERC funded Postdoc (with Nicolas Brantut, Tom Mitchell & David Dobson)
Starts January 2016

Email: e.david@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. John Browning

NERC funded Postdoc (with Tom Mitchell and Phil Meredith)

Email: j.browning@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr Nils Backeberg

Horizon 2020 funded Postdoc (with Adrian Jones and Tom Mitchell)

Email: n.backeberg@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Jieming Niu

NERC funded postdoc working with Alex Song

Email: j.niu@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

   

Dr. Andrea Berbellini

NERC funded Postdoc
(working with Ana Ferreira and Nicolas Brantut)

Email: a.berbellini@ucl.ac.uk

   
   

Dr. Frans Aben

NERC funded Postdoc
(working with Tom Mitchell and Nicolas Brantut) (starting January 2017)

Email: f.aben@ucl.ac.uk

 

PhD students

   

Michael Frietsch
NERC - UCL Impact studentship
( working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: Michael.Frietsch.14@ucl.ac.uk

   

Maria-Jose Vera
funded by CONICYT Becas-Chile Scholarship for PhD
(working with Alex Song)

Email: maria-jose.vera.15@ucl.ac.uk

   

Mark Jefferd

NERC PhD student
(working with Nicolas Brantut, Phil Meredith & Tom Mitchell)

Email: mark.jefferd.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Rebecca Pearce

NERC PhD student
(Working with Phil Meredith, Tom Mitchell, James Hammond & Jose Cembrano)

Email: r.pearce.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Giles Ostermeijer

NERC PhD student
(Working with Tom Mitchell, Nicolas Brantut and Tom Rockwell)

Email: giles.ostermeijer.15@ucl.ac.uk

   

Elodie Kendall

NERC PhD student
(Working with Ana Ferreira & Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni)

Email: elodie.kendall.14@ucl.ac.uk

   

Gabriel Meyer

EU Creep ITN PhD
(Working with Nicolas Brantut, Tom Mitchell and Phil Meredith)

Email: g.meyer@ucl.ac.uk

   

Blaise Winnard

EPSRC Case PhD student
(working with Tom Mitchell, Phil Meredith and John Browning)

Email: blaise.winnard.12@ucl.ac.uk

   

Giulia Magnarini

STFC PhD student
(working with Tom Mitchell & Peter Grindrod)

Email: giulia.magnarini.14@ucl.ac.uk

   

Becca Strachan

NERC PhD student
(Working with Tom Mitchell, Pieter Vermeesch)

Email: rebecca.strachan.16@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Almudena Sanchez de la Muela

NERC PhD student
(Working with James Hammond, Tom Mitchell)

Email: almudena.muela.16@ucl.ac.uk

   

 

 

Visiting researchers

   

Luc Illien
PhD Student
(ENS Paris, working with Alex Song)

Email:

   
   

Tiaren Garcia Perez

PhD student
(working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: trgarcia@uc.cl

   

Kang Wei Lim

Visiting researcher
(Based at ETH, Switzerland, working with Ana Ferreira)

Email:

   
   

 

Current MSc / MSci students

   

Edna Dualeh

MSci student
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: edna.dualeh.13@ucl.ac.uk

   

Ali Daoud

MSci student
(working with John Browning)

Email: ali.daoud.13@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Stehphany Ocampo Jimenez

MSc student
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: s.jimenez.16@ucl.ac.uk

   

Lucia Andreuttiova

MSc student
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: lucia.andreuttiova.16@ucl.ac.uk

   

Will Davis

MSci Student
(Working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: william.davis.13@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Recent visiting researchers

Prof. Jose Cembrano
Visiting professor (sabbatical) working with Tom Mitchell
University Catolica de Chile

Email: jcembrano@ing.puc.cl

   

Vasundhara Sarkar
Summer Intern, UCL Deans Scholarship
(Indian School of Mines, working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: vasundharasarkar.ism2011@gmail.com

   

Pamela Perez
PhD Student
University Catolica de Chile, working with Tom Mitchell and Jose Cembrano

Email: pvperez1@uc.cl

   

Matt Vaughan

PhD Student
(Otago University, New Zealand, working with Tom Mitchell and David Prior)

Email:vauma301@student.otago.ac.nz

 

 

Scarlett Gendrey

Summer intern
(EOST Strasbourg, working with Alex Song)

Email: scarlettgendrey@orange.fr

   

Alexandre Gimenez

Summer intern
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email:

   

Quangzeng Wang
PhD Student
(China University of Petroleum, working with Tom Mitchell and Phil Meredith)

Email: guangzengwang@gmail.com

   

Dr. Michele Fondriest

Postdoctoral researcher
(Padua University, Italy, working with Tom Mitchell and Giulio Di Toro)

Email: michele.fondriest@studenti.unipd.it

   

Pratibha Srivastava
Summer Intern, UCL Deans Scholarship
(Indian School of Mines, working with Tom Mitchell & John Browning)

Email: p.srivastava@ucl.ac.uk

   

Fiona Acris
Summer Intern
(Strasbourg, working with Tom Mitchell & John Browning)

Email: f.acris@ucl.ac.uk

   

Dr. Januka Attanayake
worked with Ana Ferreira

Now at University of Muenster

   

Ana Domingues
(co-tutelle between University of London and IST, Lisbon, with J. Fonseca and Ana Ferreira)
Project: Ambient noise tomography of Mozambique

Now a PDRA at University of Lisbon

Email:
ana.domingues@tecnico.ulisboa.pt

   

Laura Parisi
(based at UEA, worked with Ana Ferreira)
Funded jointly by UEA and the EU-FP7 project QUEST

Personal website here

Now a PDRA at KAUST

Email: L.Parisi@uea.ac.uk

   

Jose-Angel Comino
PhD Student
(based at Granada, Spain, with D. Stich and Ana Ferreira)

Now a PDRA at GFZ, Potsdam

Email: jalopezcomino@ugr.es

   

Maria Nader
PhD Student
(based at LMU, Germany, with Dr. Heiner Igel and Ana Ferreira)

Now at the national seismological observatory of Colombia.

Email: maria.nader@geophysik.uni-muenchen.de

   

Jieming Niu
PhD Student
(Wuhan University, working with Alex Song)

Email: ucfbjni@ucl.ac.uk

   
   

 

Previous group members (MSci / MSc)

 

Mark Jefferd

MSci student
(worked with Tom Mitchell)

Email: mark.jefferd.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Rebecca Pearce

MSci student
(worked with Tom Mitchell)

Email: r.pearce.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Joe Potten

MSci student
(worked with Tom Mitchell)

Email: joseph.potten.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Simon England

MSci student
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: simon.england.11@ucl.ac.uk

   

Will Pearson
MSci student with Tom Mitchell

Email:

   

Harriet Godwin

Research assistant
(worked with Ana Ferreira)

Email: harriet.godwin@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Anisah Anuar

MSc student
(worked with Tom Mitchell)

Email: anisah.anuar.14@ucl.ac.uk

   

Aristides Zenonos

MSc student
(working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: aristides.zenonos.14@ucl.ac.uk

   

Blaise Winnard

MSci student
(working with Tom Mitchell)

Email: blaise.winnard.12@ucl.ac.uk

   

Gina Geffers

MSci student
(working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: gina-maria.geffers.12@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

Daniel Lewis

MSci student
(working with Alex Song)

Email: daniel.lewis.12@ucl.ac.uk

   
 

Madeline Baker

MSci student
(working with Nicolas Brantut)

Email:madeline.baker.12@ucl.ac.uk

   

William Sturgeon

MSci student
(working with Ana Ferreira)

Email: william.sturgeon.12@ucl.ac.uk

   

 

 

Affiliates and collaborators

  Prof. David Dobson
  Prof. Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni
  Prof. Lars Stixrude
  Prof. Phil Meredith
  Prof. Peter Sammonds
  Prof Lidunka Vońćadlo
  Prof John Brodholt
  Dr. Chris Kilburn
  Prof. Gerald Roberts

 

 

London NERC Doctoral Training Partnership PhD opportunities

Combining seismology and space geodesy for accurate quantification of global earthquakes and 3-D Earth structure.

Evolution and significance of fault damage structures on plate boundary faults: the southern San Andreas fault system

Physics of creeping crustal rocks

Nature of the link between tectonics and volcanism in the Central and Southern Andes

Multiscale characterisation of seismic scattering, diffraction and anisotropy in the lithosphere / asthenosphere system

Toward a comprehensive understanding of transition zone seismic discontinuities