XClose

Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS)

Home
Menu

VIRTUAL WORKSHOP: Religious erudition in the Tropics

08 June 2021–09 June 2021, 3:00 pm–5:30 pm

00037_-_alegoria_jesuitas_etiopia_-_detalle.jpg

Missionaries and their visions of empire in the Early-Modern Iberian worlds. ORGANISERS: Federico Palomo (UCM) and Zoltán Biedermann (UCL).

This event is free.

Event Information

Open to

All

Availability

Yes

Cost

Free

Organiser

Institute of Advanced Studies

triptico_seminario_a.jpg
religious_erudition_tropics_programme_1.jpg


 

PROGRAM

June 8

  • 3pm-3.30pm (GMT) / 16-16.30h (Madrid)

Welcome and Opening remarks Federico Palomo (UCM) and Zoltán Biedermann (UCL)

  • 3.30pm-5pm (GMT) / 16.30-18.00h (Madrid)

SPIRITUAL CONQUESTS: IMAGINING MISSIONARY EMPIRES

Chair: Pedro Cardim (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)

Julia McClure (University of Glasgow) – Empire of Power and Pain: The Franciscan promotion of penitential confraternities in the New World

Carlos Martín Gálvez Peña (PUCP, Lima) – Writing history in 17th Century Peru: martyrdom and frontier in the work of Giovanni Anello Oliva S.J. (1574-1642)

Nuno Senos (Universidade Nova de Lisboa) – A Global Seraphic Empire: From Brazil to the World

Discussant.: Simon Ditchfield (University of York)

 

June 9

  • 9am-10.15am (GMT) / 10-11.15h (Madrid)

IMAGES OF ALIEN EMPIRES: PRE-JESUIT PERCEPTIONS

Chair: Guillermo WILDE (CONICET-Universidad Nacional de San Martín)

Zoltán BIEDERMANN (UCL) –Kingshipin Francisco Álvares’sVerdadeira Informação andBartoloméde lasCasas’ Apologética Historia

Diego SOLA(Universitatde Barcelona) –TheChina of theCatholicKing: Iberianvisionsand sinologicaltextsin the16th century

Discussant: Antonella Romano (CAK-ÉHESS, Paris)

 

  • 10.30-11.45am (GMT) / 11.30-12.45h (Madrid)

MISSIONARY PROJECTS AND VISIONS OF THE IBERIAN EMPIRES

Chair: Sabina Pavone (Università di Macerata)

Hélène Vu Thanh (Université de Bretagne-Sud) – Defending the Empire, funding the mission: The shifting discourse of the visitor Alessandro Valignano

Federico Palomo (UCM) – Inmaculate empires, female visions: María Magdalena de la Cruz, her mystical writings and the Franciscan missionary politics in the Iberian frontiers of East Asia

Discussant: Ines G. Županov (CEIAS-CNRS, Paris)

 

  • 3pm-4.15pm (GMT) / 16-17.15h (Madrid)

THINKING THE EMPIRE IN COLONIAL CONTEXTS

Chair: Jorge Flores (CIUHCT-Universidade de Lisboa)

Ângela Barreto Xavier (Instituto de Ciências Sociais, Lisboa) – The Prince and the Empire from a Goan perspective: Franciscan political writings during the government of King Afonso VI

Ananya Chakravarti (Georgetown University) - The Empire of Apostles: Portuguese Jesuits and a Religious Imagination of Empire in the 17th Century

Discussant Fernando Bouza (UCM)

 

  • 4.30pm-5.30pm (GMT) / 17.30-18.30h (Madrid)

PROJECT “TRÓPICOS LETRADOS”

Ana Isabel López-Salazar Codes (UCM) – Presentation of the Data Base Religious erudition and Images of the Portuguese Empire

Conclusion

Zotlán Bierdemann (UCL) and Federico Palomo (UCM)D

 

All welcome. Link to join the events will be sent one day before the event.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need assistance on the day, and follow this FAQ link for more information and to read our virtual events code of conduct. All of our events are free, but you can support the IAS here.