Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering


Department celebrates multiple wins at Provost's Engineering Engagement Awards 2018

9 May 2018

Provost Awards

The Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering won no fewer than three awards at the annual Provost's Engineering Engagement Awards on 8 May.

Lorenzo Molinari (pictured front, right, holding his award) was first up, coming first in the Undergraduate Student category, while the Metabolight Team, a Wellcome-funded outreach programme undertaken by the department's Multimodal Spectroscopy Group, scooped the Best Research Group prize. Ilias Tachtsidis, Senior Wellcome Trust Fellow, is pictured next to Lorenzo with the Group's award.

The final award to be announced - by Jem Hebden, Head of Department - was for an Outstanding Contribution by an Academic or Researcher. This was awarded to Clare Elwell for her longstanding dedication to science communication and public engagement.

Metabolight awards trophy and certificate

Over the years Clare has been involved in activities ranging from school visits, exhibits at the Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition, the British Science Festival and the Science Museum, to appearances on BBC's Horizon and Bang Goes the Theory, and science-themed stand up comedy.  She won the UCL Provost's Award for Public Engagement in 2013 and received a Science Suffragette Award from the Medical Research Council in 2014. 

Congratulations to everyone in the department for all the incredible work inspiring the next generation of medical physicists and biomedical engineers!

Metabolight awards table