UCL logo




Bloomsbury Project

Bloomsbury Institutions


Entomological Society

Also known as Entomological Society of London/Royal Entomological Society


It was founded in 1833 as the Entomological Society of London, a specialist scholarly society for the scientific study of insects; Peter Roget and Charles Darwin were members

It amassed a Library and a museum of specimens

Its Treasurer for several years was Samuel Stevens, founder of the Natural History Agency

It became the Royal Entomological Society in 1933 and is now based in St Albans

What was reforming about it?

It was one of the first specialist scientific societies

Where in Bloomsbury

Its foundation meeting was held at the British Museum on 12 May 1833; its first President was John George Children

Thereafter i t met at Old Bond Street until 1852, when it moved to 12 Bedford Row

In 1875 it left Bloomsbury again for Chandos Street and various other locations, moving in 1920 to Queen’s Gate, south-west London, where it remained until 2007

It is now in St Albans

Website of current institution

www.royalensoc.org.uk (opens in new window)

Books about it

S. A. Neave, The History of the Entomological Society of London, 1833–1933 (1933)

There is a more recent account of its history by Brian O. C. Gardiner, ‘A Short Account of the Royal Entomological Society and of the Progress of Entomology in Great Britain (1833–1999)’, in Simon Fenwick, A Guide to the Archives of the Royal Entomological Society (2002)


Its extensive and important records, an invaluable resource for historians of entomology, are kept on site in St Albans; details of access are available online via the Society’s Library website (opens in new window)

There is a published guide: Simon Fenwick, A Guide to the Archives of the Royal Entomological Society (2002)

This page last modified 13 April, 2011 by Deborah Colville


Bloomsbury Project - University College London - Gower Street - London - WC1E 6BT - Telephone: +44 (0)20 7679 3134 - Copyright © 1999-2005 UCL

Search by Google