EGA Institute for Women's Health


The John Timms Proteomic Science Bursary

The Institute for Women’s Health (IfWH) Women’s Cancer Department cordially invites you to apply for the 2023 John Timms Proteomic Science Bursary

John Timms
The bursary provides a sum of £1,500.


You are an eligible candidate for the bursary if you are:

•    a postgraduate student registered at the IfWH from any specialty or discipline (laboratory scientist, health scientist, oncologist, surgeon, nurse, biologist, pathologist, data scientist, midwife, statistician, etc.) 
•    plan to undertake a clinical or preclinical/translational research project involving in its broadest sense the study of protein activity 
•    have a project proposal in line with the objectives and mission of the IfWH






Your application should include:

•    a research proposal (2 page outline)

o    Background

o    Objectives

o    Primary endpoint

o    Scheme if applicable

o    Clinical data and biomaterials needed

o    Supervisor 


•    a motivation letter

o    Objectives, expectations, interests
o    Your expected contribution to the IfWH

Applications will be evaluated by the IfWH Director, the Directors of Education and Head of Research Department of Women’s Cancer. 

The bursary student is expected to:
•    actively contribute to discussions at the IfWH and within their relevant IfWH research group 
•    submit a poster to the IfWH annual research meeting.

The winner will be announced at the beginning of the Spring term 2024.

Important note: The monies are not intended to cover project costs but to provide funds for the student to use for their career development for example to visit another institution, present their work at a conference or purchase IT equipment. Monies will only be released upon supervisor approval of the research project.  
Please send your application to the Head of Reseach Department of Women's Cancer no later than January 10th 2024. 

For more information, please feel free to contact the HoRD.  We are looking forward to receiving your application!

Previous Scholarship Winners