EGA Institute for Women's Health


Perinatal Brain

Perinatal Brain

The Perinatal Brain Repair Group consists of clinicians and basic scientists working towards optimizing neuroprotection of the term infant using a pre-clinical model of birth asphyxia.


Neonatal brain injury resulting from oxygen deprivation around the time of birth affects 1 to 3 per 1000 live term births worldwide. Hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy accounts for one million deaths each year. The affected infants die in the neonatal period or sustain neurological deficits, including cerebral palsy, epilepsy and cognitive disabilities. The severity and lifelong nature of these incapacities have a large socio-economic impact on the individual, family and healthcare system.


Top L to R: Victor Globokar, Georgia Karaoli, Charlotte Kremers, Elina Ierodiakonou, Michelangelo Corcelli, Mariya Hristova, Sijo Padickakudy, Ingrid Contreras Riquelme, Daniel Hill, Bernie Owusu-Yaw, Raguvani Ragunathan
Bottom L to R: Coco Wong, Claudia Sisa


Development of new therapeutic strategies to ameliorate the severity or even prevent brain injury resulting from hypoxic-ischaemic encephalopathy

Current projects

  • Extracellular signal Regulated Kinase in HI-induced neonatal brain damage
  • Microglial Activation and Axonal Degeneration in Normal Development and following HI Insult
  • Infection-associated Signals and Tumour Necrosis Factor Family of Cytokines
  • The role of STAT3 and other transcription factors in HI-induced neonatal brain damage
  • The role of antioxidants as neuroprotective agents in neonatal HI-brain damage

Current group members

  • Dr Mariya Hristova – HEFCE funded Principal Research Fellow, Lead
  • Dr Sigrun Lange – Honorary Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow
  • Dr Eridan Rocha Ferreira – Honorary Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow
  • Miss Claudia Sisa - PhD student
  • Miss Konstantina Tetorou – PhD student


Prof Nikki Robertson - Preclinical Neonatal Neuroprotection

Dr Pascale Guillot - Cellular Reprogramming and Perinatal Therapy

Prof Anna David - Prenatal Cell and Gene Therapy

Prof Simon Waddington - Gene Transfer Technology group

Professor Howard Clark - Targeted Lung Immunotherapy group




Further information