XClose

UK Dementia Research Institute at UCL

Home
Menu

People

UK DRI at UCL Centre Staff

 

Dr Tim Bartels

Group Leader

t.bartels@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Intrinsically disordered proteins, protein folding, lipids, liquid-liquid-phase-separation and prionoid spread.

 

Team Members

Tim Bartels

Professor Gillian Bates

Group Leader

gillian.bates@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

The molecular basis of Huntington’s disease and validate therapeutic targets for Huntington's disease.

 

Team Members

Gillian Bates

Katharine Buckle

Centre Manager

k.buckle@ucl.ac.uk

Katharine Buckle

Dr Marc Aurel Busche

Group Leader

m.busche@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Understanding the initiation and progression of neural system failure in Alzheimer’s disease.

 

Team Members

Marc Aurel Busche

Professor Bart De Strooper

Group Leader and Director of UK DRI

b.strooper@ucl.ac.uk

Bart De Strooper

Professor Karen Duff

Associate Director of UK DRI at UCL and Group Leader (Spring 2020)

k.duff@ucl.ac.uk

Karen Duff

Professor Nick Fox

Group Leader

n.fox@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Clinical translational research, familial dementias, biomarkers, resymptomatic and trials.

 

Team Members 

Nick Fox

Dr Carlo Sala Frigerio

Group Leader

c.frigerio@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Single cell genomics, human brain, cerebrospinal fluid, cellular atlas, vulnerability and resilience.

 

Team Members

Carlo Sala Frigerio

Professor John Hardy

Group Leader

j.hardy@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Alzheimer’s disease, parkinson’s disease, progressive supranuclear palsy, genetics, gene expression, bioinformatics, microglia, lysosomes and ubiquitin proteasome.

 

Team Members

Dr Soyon Hong

Group Leader

soyon.hong@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Microglia, synapse pathology, complement, neuroimmune and astrocytes.

 

Team Members

Soyon Hong

Professor Adrian Isaacs

Group Leader

a.isaacs@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

C9orf72 frontotemporal dementia and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis – investigation of the molecular mechanism and development of therapeutic approaches using molecular and cellular biology and modelling in human iPSC-neurons, Drosophila and mice.

 

Team Members

Adrian Isaacs

Professor Giampietro Schiavo 

Group Leader

giampietro.schiavo@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Axonal transport, signalling endosome, motor neuron disease, peripheral neuropathies and rab GTPases.

 

Team Members

Giampietro Schiavo

Michael Sheridan

Lab Manager

michael.sheridan@ucl.ac.uk

Michael Sheridan

Professor Sarah Tabrizi

Group Leader

s.tabrizi@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Huntington’s disease, repeat expansion disease, DNA repair, trinucleotide repeat instability, huntingtin lowering and antisense oligonucleotides (ASO).

 

Team Members

Sarah Tabrizi

Professor Paul Whiting

Group Leader

p.whiting@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

The use of technologies including gene expression and human induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) to understand the role of Wnt signaling in synaptic maintenance and neuronal function and dysfunction in Alzheimer’s disease.

 

Team Members

Paul Whiting

Dr Frances Wiseman

Group Leader

f.wiseman@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Down syndrome, trisomy21, alzheimer’s disease and modifier genes.

 

Team Members

Frances Wiseman

Professor Henrik Zetterberg

Group Leader

h.zetterberg@ucl.ac.uk

Research Area:

Diagnostic fluid-based biomarkers, theragnostic fluid-based biomarkers and translational fluid-based biomarkers.

 

Team Members

UK DRI National Headquarters Staff

Laura Allum

Head of Human Resources

l.allum@ucl.ac.uk

 

Laura Allum

Martin Carmack

Director of Finance

m.carmack@ucl.ac.uk

Martin Carmack

Alex Collcutt

Communications Officer

a.collcutt@ucl.ac.uk

Alex Collcutt

Emilia Danielewska

Administrator

e.danielewska@ucl.ac.uk

Emilia Danielewska

Professor Bart De Strooper

Director

b.strooper@ucl.ac.uk

 

Bart De Strooper

Polly Downing

Office Manager

polly.downing@ucl.ac.uk

Polly Downing

T Haque

Project Officer

t.haque@ucl.ac.uk

 

Caroline Hurley

PA to Professor Bart De Stropper

caroline.hurley@ucl.ac.uk

 

Caroline Hurley

Adrian Ivinson

Director of Operations

a.ivinson@ucl.ac.uk

 

Adrian Ivinson

Aoife Kiely

Science Review Manager

a.kiely@ucl.ac.uk

Aoife Kiely

Giovanna Lalli

Director of Scientific Affairs

g.lalli@ucl.ac.uk

 

Giovanna Lalli

I-Chun Lin

Scientific Officer

i.lin@ucl.ac.uk

I-chun Lin

Kay Penicud

Director of Business and Innovation

Joining November 2019, more details to follow

 

Kay Penicud

Hugh Perry

Honorary Consultant and Theme Lead

hugh.perry@ucl.ac.uk

Hugh Perry

Lucy Wilson

Senior Communications Manager

lucy.wilson@ucl.ac.uk

Lucy Wilson