XClose

Centre for Translation Studies

Home
Menu

Past Seminars: 2014-2015

Wednesday, 22 October 2015 Translation at the Cross-Roads: Time for the Transcreational Turn?
Speaker: David Katan
Monday, 3 November  - Tuesday, 4 November 2014
  • Trommons 2014 is organised by the Localisation Research Centre at the University of Limerick,in conjunction with the Centre for Translation Studies (CenTraS) at University College London and is supported by The Rosetta Foundation and CNGL.
  • Trommons 2014 the world's first Non-Market language forum. What is a non-market? Thousands of volunteers, organisations, strategists, linguists, technologists, entrepreneurs, and visionaries (like you!) focused on giving EVERYONE a voice in the global conversation, regardless of language, location, or ability to pay.
  • Further information and event website
Wednesday, 19 November  2014 Queer Affective Translations in Activist Movements Speaker: Michela Baldo
Wednesday, 3 December   2014 Film Musicals in Translation: Textual Choices for the Song Episodes
Speaker: Dr Marta Mateo
Tuesday, 13 January 2015 Towards a Micro-History of Translators and Translation
Speaker: Professor Jeremy Munday
Tuesday, 27 January 2015 Corpora in Translation Practice
Speaker: Dr Ana Frankenberg-Garcia
Tuesday, 10 February 2015 The Art of譯(yì)3000 Years of Chinese Translation
Speaker: Ms Nicky Harman
Tuesday, 10 February 2015  An open evening, organised by CenTras, which includes a general introduction to CenTraS, the three different Master courses, their modules, their modes of study and related topics.
Tuesday, 3 March 2015 Developing Translators' Intercultural Competence
Speaker: Dr Daniel Tomozeiu, University of Westminster
Tuesday, 17 March 2015 Performativity in Amateur AudiovisualTranslation
Speaker: Dr Luis Pérez-González, University of Manchester
Tuesday, 5 May 2015 The Language of Interlingual Subtitles
Speaker: Dr Kristijan Nikolic, Zagreb University