Teaching & Learning


Initiatives and resources supporting the objectives of UCL's Education Strategy 2016-21


The Education Awards 2019 shortlist announced

1 April 2019

The shortlist for the Student Choice Awards and UCL Provost Education Awards announced.

UCL Education Awards 2019.jpg

In the final session at UCL Education Conference, Vice-Provost (Education and Student Affairs) Professor Anthony Smith announced the full shortlist of UCL staff for the Student Choice Awards and UCL Education Awards.

Both will be celebrated at a grand celebration on the Wilkins Terrace on Thursday 30 May 2019, from 4:30pm. 

Register to attend awards

UCL Provost Education Awards shortlist

Each of these nominees have been awarded a UCL Education Award by their Faculty. Exceptional individuals and teams receive the Provost's Education Award. These recognise staff making outstanding contributions to the learning experience and success of our students.

Arts & Humanities

Eva Renon
Thomas Kador
Sara Wingate Gray

Built Environment (The Bartlett)

Juliana Martins
Matthew Davies
Steve Johnson

Team: Andrea Rigon, Joseph Macarthy, Alexander Stone, and Joanna Stroud

Brain Sciences

Bernadett Kalmar
Sarah Rowe
Vanessa Puetz

Team: Division of Psychiatry MSc Programme Team: Professor Sonia Johnson, Vaughan Bell, Jo Billings, Sarah Rowe, Nicola Morant, Gemma Lewis, Rebecca Jones, Vasiliki Orgeta, Jonathan Huntley, Natalie Marchant, Chris Coup, Tayla McCloud and Jessica Bone

Engineering Sciences

Noelle Colant
Alberto Striolo
Martina Micheletti
Mazaher Molaei Chalchooghi

Institute of Education

Kate Laurence

Team: Noreen Syed Kassem and team

Team: Mary Richardson and Ruth Dann


Maria Lee

Team: Eleanore Hickman and Martin Petrin

Life Sciences

Pouria Hadjibagheri

Team: Gerold Baier and Pouria Hadjibagheri

Medical Sciences

Amali Lokugamage
Jayne Kavanagh

Team: MSc in Health Professions Education (HPE) team: Lisa Andrews, Fran Pitman, Natasha Malik, Paul Cramptonr, Miranda Kronfli, Kerry Boardman, Graham Easton, Michael Page

Team: Abigail Whiteman, Gautam Kumar, Sam Bampoe, Robert Stephens, David Walker and Anna Szajda

Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Martyn Towner
Isidoros Strouthos
Marta Campi

Team: Niloufar Abourashchi, Alex Donov, Simon Harden, Tom Honnor, Elinor Jones and Matina Rassias

Population Health Sciences

Jane Simmonds
Anne Peasey

Team: Anja Heilmann and Yvonne Kelly

Social & Historical Sciences

Manu Savani
Michela Tincani
Lauge N. Skovgaard Poulsen

Team: Helen Bennion, Andrew Harris, Jonathan Holmes, Tariq Jazeel, Anson Mackay, Johanna Waters, and Jason Dittmer

Student Choice Awards shortlist

This year the Student Choice Awards panel has received a record number of more than 1,450 nominations from students across UCL and over 750 different members of staff nominated, showing just how keen students are to recognise their teachers.  

You can view every member of staff who was nominated here, shortlisted staff can be found below:

Active Student Partnership

Dan Carter
Liz Jones
Selena Nemorin

Amazing Support Staff

Agnese Benzonelli
Clare Lewis and Thomas Kador
Nadine Mogford

Brilliant Research-based Education

Heather Jones
Meg Russell
Suzanne Farid

Diverse & Inclusive Curriculum

Ashraf Hoque
Christine Xine Yao
Jeff Bowersox

Excellent Personal Tutoring

Cloda Jenkins
Lidunka Vocaldlo
Mark Kristiansen

Exceptional Feedback

Kevin Bryson
Susan Askew
Abhishek Bhattacharya

Inspiring Teaching Delivery

Abhishek Bhattacharya
Hans Van De Koot
Rasmus Nilsson

Outstanding Research Supervision

David Thornalley
Miranda Wolpert
Sandra Leaton-Gray