Teaching & Learning


The Provost's Teaching Awards: previous winners

The Provost's Teaching Awards have now been replaced by the UCL Education Awards (2018).


Postgraduate Teaching Assistants

  • Joseph Thorogood (Social & Historical Sciences)
  • Matthew Scroggs (Mathematical & Physical Sciences)

Team Awards

  • #UCLChemAirPoll, led by Professor Andrea Sella (Mathematical & Physical Sciences)

Professional staff

  • Jessica Gramp (Digital Education)
  • Jo Strange (Brain Sciences)

Teaching staff (all received commendation for leadership)

  • Dr Caroline R Fertleman (Medical Sciences/Population Health Sciences)
  • Jane E Burns (Engineering)
  • Dr Jenny Marie (Arena Centre)

Postgraduate Teaching Assistant

  • Mr. Martin Rosillo-Lopez (MAPS)
  • Leadership awards
  • Professor Sonia Johnson (Brain Sciences)
  • Dr Sunny Bains (Engineering Sciences)


  • Chem160x team put forward by Prof Andrea Sella (MAPS)

Professional staff

  • Ms Nazlin Bhimani (IOE)
  • Ms Jenny Post (Bartlett)

Teaching/academic Staff

  • Dr Joanna Catherine Porter (Medical Sciences)
  • Dr Matt Pope (SHS)
  • Dr Andrew Wills (MAPS)
  • Mrs Jane Britton (Engineering Sciences)
  • Dr Adam Liston (Brain Sciences)
  • Dr Faye Gishen (Medical Sciences)
  • Dr Jonathan Evans (MAPS)
  • Dr Richard Freeman (IOE)

Individual teaching awards

  • Ilan Adler, Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering
  • Tim Baker, Mechanical Engineering
  • Sarah Dhanjal, Archaeology
  • Matt Jenner, E-Learning Environments
  • Ruth Morgan, Security and Crime Science
  • Andrew Reid, Archaeology
  • Kerstin Sailer, Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Lucio Vinicius, Anthropology

Team collaboration and achievement in teaching

  • Daniel Richardson, Stephanie Lazzaro and Jorina von Zimmermann, Experimental Psychology
  • UCL SysMIC core team (Chris Barnes, Philip Lewis and Gerold Baier), Cell and Developmental Biology

Leadership and impact

  • Julie Evans, Brain Sciences
  • Margot Finn, History
  • Jamie Harle, Medical Physics and Bioengineering

  • Dr Adrien Desjardins, UCL Medical Physics and Bioengineering
  • Dr Richard Milne, Centre for Virology
  • Dr Benn Thomsen, UCL Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Chris Barker, Research Department of Clinical, Educational and Health Psychology (joint award)
  • Professor Nancy Pistrang, Research Department of Clinical, Educational and Health Psychology (joint award)
  • Dr Elizabeth Benjamin, Research Department of Pathology, Cancer Institute
  • Dr Marcos Martinón-Torres, UCL Institute of Archaeology
  • Professor Andrew Fisher, UCL Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Mr Mike Rowson, UCL Institute for Global Health
  • Ms Jo Volley, Slade School of Fine Art
  • Dr Andrew Wills, UCL Department of Chemistry
  • Mrs Stefanie Anyadi, UCL Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
  • Mr Adam Townsend, UCL Department of Mathematics

Bartlett FEM team: Professor Alexi Marmot, Mr Peter McLennan, Dr Fuzhan Nasiri, Professor Michael Pitt and Dr Ljiljana Marjanovic-Halburd (joint award)

UCL Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering team: Professor Nick Tyler, Professor Richard Simons, Dr Paul Greening and Dr Julia Stegemann (joint award)


Staff at the beginning of their career

  • Dr Hervé Borrion, UCL Security and Crime Science
  • Dr Jayne Kavanagh, UCL Academic Centre for Medical Education

Experienced academic staff

  • Dr Paul Bartlett, UCL Physics and Astronomy
  • Dr William Coppola, Department of Primary Care and Population Health
  • Professor David D’Avray, UCL History
  • Dr Douglas Guilfoyle, UCL Laws
  • Ms Frosso Pimenides, UCL Bartlett School of Architecture

Staff involved in supporting student learning

  • Mr Ian Patmore, Department of Geography

Postgraduate Teaching Assistant

  • Ms Oliwia Berdak, School of Slavonic and Eastern European Studies
  • Team Collaboration and Achievement in Teaching:
  • Dr David West and the UCL School of Pharmacy

Internationalised department

  • Dr Christine Hoffmann and the UCL Language Centre

Beginning of academic career

  • Dr Chris Blackman, Chemistry
  • Dr Dominic Furniss, UCL Interaction Centre 
  • Dr Ben Hanson, Mechanical Engineering

Experienced academic staff

  • Mr Michael Ashby, Speech Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
  • Dr Caroline Garaway, Anthropology 
  • Dr Sharon Morris, Slade School of Fine Art
  • Dr Bill Sillar, Institute of Archaeology

Supporting student learning

  • Dr Amanda Cain, Structural and Molecular Biology 
  • Ms Cari Tuhey, History

Postgraduate Teaching Assistant

  • Mr John Mitchinson, SELCS