XClose

Students

Home
Menu

Provisional term dates and closures 2023-24

Information about when terms start and end and when UCL is closed for the holidays during 2023-24.

On this page you can find out the UCL term dates and closures for 2023-24.

Term dates 2023-24

TermDates
First term     Monday 25 September 2023 to Friday 15 December 2023
Second termMonday 8 January 2024 to Friday 22 March 2024
Third termMonday 22 April 2024 to Friday 7 June 2024

College Reading Weeks

Monday 6 November 2023 and Monday 12 February 2024


Term dates exceptions

Students on full-time Taught Masters programmes usually study for 45 weeks of the full calendar year and students are expected to study beyond the end of the third term to prepare their dissertation in time for submission in September.

Students on full-time 10-month or 2-year Taught Masters programmes should ask their Departments when they are expected to study outside the normal stated term dates.

Research students are required to be in continuous attendance, apart from periods of leave to be taken in line with UCL staff holiday entitlements.

For student and Tier 4 visa holders, this means that you will continue to be restricted to term-time levels of permissible hours of work, paid or unpaid.   

Find out more about Tier 4/Student visa working regulations.   


UCL Institute of Education

  • Initial Teacher Education Programmes
TermDates
First termWednesday 30 August 2023 to Monday 18 December 2023
Second termTuesday 2 January 2024 to Friday 29 March 2024
Third termMonday 15 April 2024 to Friday 19 July 2024

UCL Medical School

  • MBBS Years 4 and 5
TermDates
First termTuesday 29 August 2023 to Friday 15 December 2023
Second termTuesday 2 January 2024 to Wednesday 27 March 2024
Third termThursday 4 April 2024 to Friday 2 August 2024

 MBBS Year 6

TermDates
First termTuesday 29 August 2023 to Friday 15 December 2023
Second termTuesday 2 January 2024 to Thursday 28 March 2024
Third termTuesday 2 April 2024 to Friday 21 June 2024

UCL School of Pharmacy 

  • MSc Clinical Pharmacy, International Practice and Policy
  • MSc in Clinical Pharmacy, International Practice and Policy with extended placement
TermDates
First termMonday 25 September 2023 to Friday 15 December 2023
Second termMonday 8 January 2024 to Friday 22 March 2024 
Third termMonday 15 April 2024 to Friday 20 September 2024

Closures and Bank Holidays

Christmas: 5:30pm on Friday 22 December 2023 to 9:00am on Tuesday 2 January 2024

Easter: 5:30pm on Wednesday 27 March 2024 to 9:00am on Thursday 4 April 2024

Bank Holidays: Monday 06 May 2024, Monday 27 May 2024 and Monday 26 August 2024

All Bank Holidays, and the College closure dates based on them, are the standard dates and may be subject to change by government.

Find out more on GOV.UK