XClose

Students

Home
Menu

Department information

Here you can find contact details of department Affiliate Tutor(s), as well as department-specific links for affiliate students and 'Meet Your Department' event details.

Please see below for details of your UCL department's Affiliate Tutor and 'Meet Your Department' session.

  • An Affiliate Tutor is your main point of contact for academic support and queries relating to your programme of study.
  • 'Meet Your Department' (MYD) is an opportunity to visit your admitting department on arrival and discuss course choices with your Affiliate Tutor and/or administrator.

If you are taking modules in two or more departments, please attend the 'Meet Your Department' session for your main admitting department. You are strongly encouraged to get in contact with the other department(s) where you intend to take courses.

Last updated 12 September 2018. For more information please contact your department directly. 

Anthropology

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Ruth Mandel, r.mandel@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Jolanta Skorecka, anthro-undergraduate@ucl.ac.uk  

Meet Your Department

For details of the Meet Your Department session please contact the department directly.

Further Affiliate Student information

Information for Current Students
Undergraduate Modules
Postgraduate Modules
Study Abroad Guide - Anthropology 

anthro-undergraduate@ucl.ac.uk
Archaeology

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Jose Oliver, ioa-affiliate-tutor@ucl.ac.uk 

Administrator

Judy Medrington, j.medrington@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 412, Institute of Aracheology, 31-34 Gordon Square, WC1H 0PY
  • Speakers: Dr Jose Oliver and Judy Medrington

Further Affiliate Student information

Studying at the Institute of Archaeology
Undergraduate Modules
Postgraduate Modules
Study Abroad Guide - Archaeology

Arts and Sciences (BASc)

Administrator

Elena Méndez-Piedra Paredesbasc-office@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Arts and Sciences BASc Common Room, G11, 1-4 Malet Place, WC1H 0AT
  • Speakers: Carl Gombrich, Cristy Meadows and Elena Méndez-Piedra Paredes

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad at UCL
Study Abroad Guide - Liberal Arts and Sciences

Biochemical Engineering

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Stefanie Frank, stefanie.frank@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Please meet Dr Stefanie Frank at the reception of the Bernard Katz Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Dr Stefanie Frank

Further Affiliate Student Information

Study Abroad Guide - Biochemical Engineering

Biological Sciences

Affiliate Tutor

Prof Nick Lane, nick.lane@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Kuldip Chana, k.chana@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: G01 Lecture Theatre, Medawar Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Chris Taylorson and Dr Richard Tunwell

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Biosciences
Study Abroad Guide - Biological Sciences

Biomedical Sciences

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Richard Tunwell, r.tunwell@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Kuldip Chana, k.chana@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: G01 Lecture Theatre, Medawar Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Chris Taylorson and Dr Richard Tunwell

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Biosciences
Study Abroad Guide - Biomedical Sciences

Chemical Engineering

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Ryan Wang, ryan.wang@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Elizabeth Hills, e.hills@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 2.30pm - 4.30pm
  • Venue: Room 315, Roberts Building, Torrington Place, WC1E 7JE
  • Speaker: Dr Ryan Wang

Further Affiliate Student information

People
Study Abroad Guide - Chemical Engineering

Chemistry

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Dewi Lewis, d.w.lewis@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 124K, Christopher Ingold Building, 20 Gordon Street, WC1H 0AJ
  • Speaker: Dr Dewi Lewis

If you are joint with another department, please inform Dr Lewis if you will not attend.

Further Affiliate Student information

Undergraduate Contacts
Study Abroad Guide - Chemistry

Civil, Environmental & Geomatic Engineering (CEGE)

Affiliate Tutors

Dr Beatrice Baudet, b.baudet@ucl.ac.uk (General)
Dr James Haworth, j.haworth@ucl.ac.uk (Erasmus)

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room G04, Chadwick Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr James Haworth and Dr Beatrice Baudet

Further Affiliate Student information

Main Contacts
Module Guides
Study Abroad Guide - Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering

Computer Science

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Christopher Clack, cs.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Gertrud Levit, cs.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 5.25, Malet Place Engineering Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Gertrud Levit

Further Affiliate Student information

Computer Science Modules for Affiliate Students
Study Abroad Guide - Computer Science

Earth Sciences

Affiliate Tutor

Danuta Kaminski, d.kaminski@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Suzi Rizvi, r.rizvi@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.30am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 129, Kathleen Lonsdale Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad Guide - Earth Sciences

Undergraduate Modules

Economics

Affiliate Tutor

Prof Eric French,  eric.french@ucl.ac.uk

Administrators

Paula Moore & Rebecca Burns, economics.affiliates@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, Time 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Jevons Lecture Theatre, Drayton House, 30 Gordon Street, WC1H 0AN
  • Speaker: Prof Eric French

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate students in Economics
FAQs
Study Abroad Guide - Economics

Institute of Education (IoE)

Affiliate Tutors

Dr Olga Cara, o.cara@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Tracey Allen, tracey.allen@ucl.ac.uk

Administrators

Sean Taylor, sean.taylor@ucl.ac.uk
Johnny Dixon, johnny.dixon@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 539, Institute of Education (IoE), 20 Bedford Way, WC1H 0AL
  • Speakers: Sean Taylor and Johnny Dixon

For further details of the Meet Your Department session please contact the department directly.

Further Affiliate Student information

Contact Us
Study Abroad Guide - Education

Electronic and Electrical Engineering (EE)

Affiliate Tutor

Prof George Pavlou, george.pavlou@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Sebastian Carrington, s.carrington@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Marconi Room 1103, 11th floor, Roberts Engineering Building, Torrington Place, WC1E 7JE
  • Speakers: Prof George Pavlou and Sebastian Carrington

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad Guide - Electronic and Electrical Engineering

English

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Chris Stamatakis, c.stamatakis@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 229, Student Common Room, Foster Court, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Dr Chris Stamatakis

Further Affiliate Student information

Current and Incoming Undergraduates
Study Abroad Guide - English Language and Literature

Institute of Epidemiology and Health Care 

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Nicola Shelton, n.shelton@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Sophie Skinner, s.skinner@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 706/707, 1-19 Torrington Place, WC1E 7HB

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad Guide - Institute of Epidemiology and Healthcare

School of European Languages, Culture and Society (SELCS)

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Ana Cláudia Suriani Da Silva, a.surianidasilva@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for SELCS Affiliates

selcs.studyabroad@ucl.ac.uk

Contact for non-SELCS Affiliates (from other UCL departments):

selcs.undergraduate@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Archaeology Lecture Theatre G6, 31–34 Gordon Square, WC1H 0PY
  • Speaker: Dr Ana Cláudia Suriani Da Silva

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Students at SELCS
Module Registration for affiliates from other UCL departments
Study Abroad Guide - European Languages, Culture and Society

European & International Social and Political Studies (EISPS)

Affiliate Tutor

Jonas Vendieken, jonas.vandieken.13@ucl.ac.uk 

Administrators
Dr Julia Wagner, j.wagner@ucl.ac.uk 

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room G02, 33-35 Torrington Place, WC1E 7HG
  • Speakers: Dr Julia Wagner and Jonas Vendieken

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliates
Study Abroad Guide - European Social and Political Studies

Slade School of Fine Art

Affiliate Tutor

Andrew Stahl, andrew.stahl@ucl.ac.uk

Administrators

Clare Meckled-Szembek and Grace Fan, slade.tlo@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Slade Gallery, Slade School of Fine Art, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Kieren Reed, David Burrows, Brighid Lowe, Melanie Counsell and Prof Andrew Stahl

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad
Study Abroad Guide - Fine Art

Geography

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Johanna Waters, johanna.waters@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: G07 Exhibition Room, Pearson Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Johanna Waters and Dr James Kneale

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate (JYA/Exchange) Students
Study Abroad Guide - Geography

Institute for Global Health

Affiliate Tutor

Shivani Singh, shivani.singh.10@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Caroline Smith, igh.adminug@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health, 30 Guilford Street, WC1N 1EH (Upon arrival, please wait in the reception)
  • Speakers: Shivani Singh and Caroline Smith

Further Affiliate Student information

Contact Us
Study Abroad Guide - Global Health

Greek and Latin

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Fiachra Mac Góráin, f.macgorain@ucl.ac.uk (Term 1)
Dr Rosie Harman, rosie.harman@ucl.ac.uk (Term 2)

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Monday 24 September 2018, 4.30pm - 5.30pm
  • Venue: Room G09, Gordon House, 29 Gordon Square, WC1H 0PP
  • Speaker: Dr Fiachra Mac Góráin

Further Affiliate Student information

Visiting Students
Study Abroad Guide - Greek and Latin (Classics/Ancient World)

Hebrew & Jewish Studies

Affiliate Tutor

Prof Michael Berkowitz, m.berkowitz@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Vanessa Clarke, vanessa.clarke@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 26 September 2018, 9.30am - 11.30am
  • Venue: Room 322, Foster Court, Malet Place, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Prof Michael Berkowitz

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad at UCL
Study Abroad Guide - Hebrew and Jewish Studies

History

Affiliate Tutors

Dr Sophie Page, sophie.page@ucl.ac.uk
Prof Hans Van Wees, h.wees@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Kitty Ho, kitty.ho@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room B05, Darwin Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Sophia Page, Prof Hans Van Wees and Kitty Ho

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad
Study Abroad Guide - History

History of Art

Affiliate Tutor

Diana Dethloff, d.dethloff@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Seminar Room 3, 20-21 Gordon Square, WC1H 0AW (Students should enter via metal staircase at rear of House 20)
  • Speaker: Diana Dethloff

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad/Affiliates
Study Abroad Guide - History of Art

Infection and Immunity

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Richard Milne, richard.milne@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Biljana Nikolić, b.nikolic@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 1.3.03a, Cruciform Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Prof Richard Milne

Please note: students should go to the Cruciform building reception and ask the team to phone Nathan Buckley ext. 46975 or Biljana Nikolic ext. 52122.

Further Affiliate Student information

Study
Study Abroad Guide - Infection and Immunity

Laws

Affiliate Tutor

Katy Hamilton, k.hamilton@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Ceili Roberts, ceili.roberts@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Hong Kong Room, Bentham House, 4-8 Endsleigh Gardens, WC1H 0EG

Further Affiliate Student Information

Study Abroad Guide - Laws

Linguistics

Affiliate Tutor

Professor Ad Neeleman, a.neeleman@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Alexa Richardson, enquiries-linguistics@pals.ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -11.00am
  • Venue: Room 116, Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, WC1N 1PF (tbc)
  • Speaker: Prof Ad Neelman

Further Affiliate Student information

Information about the Affiliate/Study Abroad Programme
Study Abroad Guide - Linguistics
Undergraduate Linguistics modules

School of Management

Affiliate Tutor

Dave Chapman, d.chapman@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Fiona Narraway, f.narraway@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 1.20, Malet Place Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Fiona Narraway and Dave Chapman

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliates
Study Abroad Guide - Management

Mathematics

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Lars Louder, l.louder@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 609, UCL Department of Mathematics, 25 Gordon Street, WC1H 0AY
  • Speaker: Dr Lars Louder

Please ensure you arrive promptly for a 10.00am start. 

Further Affiliate Student information

Start of Session
Study Abroad Guide - Mathematics

Mechanical Engineering

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Adam Wojcik, a.wojcik@ucl.ac.uk

Administrators

Rachel Smith, mecheng.ug-queries@ucl.ac.uk (UG Administrator)
Estelle Cossin, mecheng.pg-queries@ucl.ac.uk  (PG Administrator)

Meet Your Department 

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 503B, Fifth floor, Roberts Building, WC1E 7JE
  • Speaker: Dr Adam Wojcik and Rachel Smith

Further Affiliate Student information

Student Handbook 
Affiliate Courses
Study Abroad Guide - Mechanical Engineering

Molecular Biosciences

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Christopher Taylorson, c.taylorson@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Kuldip Chana, k.chana@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: G01 Lecture Theatre, Medawar Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Chris Taylorson and Dr Richard Tunwell

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Biosciences
Study Abroad Guide - Molecular Biosciences

Neuroscience

Affiliate Tutor

Prof Paola Pedarzani, p.pedarzani@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Kuldip Chana, k.chana@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am - 12.00pm
  • Venue: G01 Lecture Theatre, Medawar Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speakers: Dr Chris Taylorson and Dr Richard Tunwell

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Biosciences
Study Abroad Guide - Neuroscience

Philosophy

Affiliate Tutor

Prof Mark Kalderon, m.kalderon@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Dolores Taylor-Keane, d.taylor-keane@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

For details of the Meet Your Department session please contact the department directly.

Further Affiliate Student information

BA Programmes
Study Abroad Guide - Philosophy

Physics and Astronomy

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Mario Campanelli, m.campanelli@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Sevgi Thompson, sevgi.thompson@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.15am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room E3/E7, UCL Physics Building, Gower Street, WC1E 6BT
  • Speaker: Dr Mario Campanelli

Further Affiliate Student information

Study Abroad Guide - Physics and Astronomy

The Bartlett School of Planning

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Claire Colomb, c.colomb@ucl.ac.uk

Administrators

Jenny Post, j.post@ucl.ac.uk (Undergraduate)
Nina Jasilek, n.jasilek@ucl.ac.uk (Postgraduate)

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room LG01, Central House, 14 Upper Woburn Place, WC1H 0NN
  • Speakers: Dr Claire Colomb, Jenny Post and Nina Jasilek

Further Affiliate Student information

Undergraduate Modules
Postgraduate Modules
Study Abroad Guide - Planning

Political Science

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Tom O'Grady, t.o'grady@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Joanna Smith, joanna.y.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: SPP Council Room, School of Public Policy, 29-30 Tavistock Square, WC1H 9QU
  • Speakers: Dr Tom O'Grady and Joanna Smith

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate Programmes
Study Abroad Guide - Political Science and International Relations

Psychology

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Daniel Richardson, daniel.richardson@ucl.ac.uk / dcr@eyethink.org

Administrator

Jo Strange, joanna.strange@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 305, 26 Bedford Way, WC1H 0AP
  • Speakers: Jo Strange, Dr Daniel Richardson, Michael Hobbiss and Katie Walsh

Further Affiliate Student information

Affiliate/Study Abroad Psychology
Modules Offered to Psychology Affiliates
Study Abroad Guide - Psychology

Science and Technology Studies (STS)

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Brendan Clarke, b.clarke @ucl.ac.uk 

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: STS Student Common Room, 22 Gordon Square, WC1H 0AG
  • Speaker: Dr Brendan Clarke

Further Affiliate Student information

Information for Current Students
Study Abroad Guide - Science and Technology Studies

School of Slavonic and Eastern European Studies (SSEES)

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Riitta Valijarvi, r.valijarvi@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Martyn Gray, ssees-affiliate@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 432, UCL SEES, 16 Taviton Street, WC1H 0BW
  • Speaker: Robert Bodden and Dr Riitta Valijarvi

Further Affiliate Student information

Undergraduate (BA) modules
Postgraduate (MA) modules
Study Abroad Guide - SSEES

Statistical Science

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Tom Honnor, t.honnor@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Karen Leport, k.leport@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Statistics Lecture Room 102 , 1-19 Torrington Place, WC1E 7HB
  • Speakers: Dr Tom Honnor and Karen Leport

Further Affiliate Student information

Information for Current Students
Study Abroad Guide - Statistical Science

Social Science

Affiliate Tutor

Dr Humera Iqbal, h.iqbal1@ucl.ac.uk

Administrator

Lucy Raney, bsc-socsciences@ucl.ac.uk

Meet Your Department

  • Date: Thursday 20 September 2018, 10.00am -12.00pm
  • Venue: Room 43, Thomas Coram Research Unit, 27/28 Woburn Square, WC1H 0AA
  • Speaker: Dr Humera Iqbal

Further Affiliate Student Information

Study Abroad Guide - Social Science