UCL School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SSEES)



Serbo-Croatian is taught at both undergraduate and postgraduate level at UCL SSEES.

The Serbo-Croatian language is spoken in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia, where it has several political names: Bosnian, Bosniak, Croatian, Montenegrin and Serbian. It belongs to the group of South Slavonic languages, together with Bulgarian, Macedonian and Slovene. Serbo-Croatian is written in two alphabets: Latin and Cyrillic. Both alphabets have 30 letters, each corresponding to a particular sound, which makes reading and writing Serbo-Croatian very easy. Learning Serbo-Croatian will enable you to communicate with people from across the region in their own language.