Slade School of Fine Art


Staff, Students, Slade

RED - Material Museum

This exhibition is one of the research outcomes of a project completed during the Summer 2018 by UCL students Alexa Marroquin and Jessica Manuel, supervised by Ruth Siddall. Jessica and Alexa are both successful recipients of UCL Laidlaw Scholarships, which gives them the opportunity to undertake academic research in their first year of undergraduate study. Their project, ‘Red in Roman Britain’ has looked at the range of red pigments available to Romano-British artists and together they have made a comparative study of the ancient pigments available and their modern analogues; rose madder, red lead, cinnabar/vermillion and red ochre. Alexa is studying for an MSci Chemistry and Jessica is studying for a BA History of Art with Material Studies at UCL. Together they have performed scientific analyses of the pigments and also prepared pigments as paints to test their workability and colour.

Find out more about the Laidlaw Scholarships Programme at

Established in 2012 at the Slade School of Fine Art, UCL, the museum aims to promote knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the role of material within thinking and making. The museum is concerned with the preserving, collecting, exhibiting and fostering understanding of material at the highest possible museum and scholarly standards.

Exhibits can be anything that relates to material: a finished product in its own right or an unprocessed raw material. They can draw attention to substances or components with certain physical properties used in production or manufacture.

Directorial Board:

Director - Jo Volley
Executive Director - Onya McCausland
Technical Advisor - Gary Woodley
Curator - Klaas Hoek
Keeper - Alan Taylor
Resident writer and critic - Mel Gooding 
Curator - Estelle Thompson
Resident Poet - Professor Sharon Morris
Curatorial Collections Manager - Grace Hailstone


Professor John Aiken
Professor Lewis Biggs OBE 
Dr. Spike Bucklow
Professor Susan Collins
Dr. Zoe Laughlin
Liz Lawes
Lisa Milroy RA
Jim Moyes
Stephanie Nebbia
Dr. Robyn Pender
Dr. Nina Pearlman
Kieren Reed
Dr. Ruth Siddall

Posted Wednesday, 31st October 2018 00:00