SEAHA Centre for Doctoral Training



SEAHA works with one-hundred and seventy-nine supervisors across our three partner universities and partners. All students have both academic, heritage and/or supervisors from industry.

Academic Supervisors 

University College London 

Prof May Cassar
Dr Katherine Curran
Prof Dina D'Ayala
Dr Kalliopi Fouseki
Prof Ian Freestone
Prof Simon Gaisford
Prof Adam Gibson
Dr Josep Grau-Bove
Ass. Prof Catherine Holloway
Dr Anna Mavrogianni
Prof Dejan Mumovic
Dr Emma Richardson 
Prof Matija Strlic

University of Oxford 

Dr Martin Coombes
Prof Grant Ritchie
Prof David Thomas
Prof Heather Viles

University of Brighton 

Dr Frauke Behrendt
Dr Matthew Brolly
Dr Chris Carey
Dr Piero Cacciola
Dr Roger Evans 
Dr Karina Rodriguez Echavarria

Heritage Supervisors 

Christian Baars, National Museum Cardiff
Alex Ball, Natural History Museum
Tristan Bareham, Sussex Past
Stephen Battle, World Monuments Fund
Jon Bedford, Historic England
Mark Beech, Abu Dhabi Tourism and Cultur Authority
Gabrielle Beentjes, Nationaal Archief
Nancy Bell, The National Archives
Nigel Blades, National Trust
Phil Blume, The Regency Town House
Paul Bryan, Historic England
Deborah Cane, Tate
Alan Cathersides, Historic England
Aurelia Chevalier, University of Bologna
Jane Corcoran, Historic England
Marion Crick, V&A
Gerrit de Bruin, Nationaal Archief
Caroline de Stephani, London Metropolitan Archives 
Julie Desarnaud, Belgian Building Research Institute 
David Drewe, Historic England
Christina Duffy, British Library
Fenella France, Library of Congress

Claudia Garcia Solis, Centro INAH (Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia) Mexico
Dana Goodburn Brown, Victoria & Albert Museum
Jana Horak, National Museum Cardiff
David Howell, Bodleian Library
Isobel Hughes, University of Oxford
Robin Jackson, Worcester County Council
Katrien Keune, Rijksmuseum
Robert Koestler, Smithsonian Institute
Fr. Lawrence MacLean, St Barnabas, Hove
Tom Learner, Getty Conservation Institute
Edmund Lee, Historic England
Anthony Leonard, UCL Archaeology South East 
Alick Leslie, Historic Environment Scotland
Katy Lithgow, National Trust
Odile Madden, Getty Conservation Institute
Ian McCaig, Historic England
Abigail Moore, Museum of London
Tonya Nelson, UCL Museums and Collections
Kostas Ntanos, The National Archives
Meriel O'Dowd, Churches Conservation Trust 
Marta Oriola, University of Barcelona
Styliani Papatzani, Hellenic Ministry of Culture

Boris Pretzel, V&A
Trevor Proudfoot, Cliveden Conservation
Jessica Ramírez Méndez, National Coordination of Historical Monuments (Mexico)
Juan Luis Rodriguez Parga, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)
Pedro Santos, Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD
Eleanor Schofield, Mary Rose Trust
Yvonne Shasoua, National Museum of Denmark
Stefania Signorello, Wellcome Trust
Philippa Smith, London Metropolitan Archives 
David Thickett, English Heritage
Fragiskos Topalis, NTUA School of Electrical and Comp Eng
Joyce Townsend, Tate
Maria Uribe Villegas, Gold Museum, Bogata 
Robert van Langh, Rijksmuseum
Juergen Verwoorst, The National Archives
Constantina Vlachou, Historic Royal Palaces
Lyn Wilson, Historic Environment Scotland
Chris Wood, English Heritage
Maureen Young, Historic Environment Scotland

Industry Supervisors 

Manfred Anders, ZFB GmbH
Ian Angus, Carden and Godfrey Architects
Tore Askelund, Norwegian Public Roads Administration
David Bannon, Headwall
Marek Barwinski, InstaDeep
Carlos Bayod, Factum Arte
Jonathan Beck, Myminifactory
Ian Boyd, Artecology/Arc Consulting
Caroline Checkley Scott, Conservation by Design
Giannatonio Cibin, Diamond Light Source 
Tobit Curteis, Tobit Curteis Associates LLP
John Duncan, Lacerta Technology Ltd
John Gilchrist, Camlin Group Ltd
Fasil Giorghis, Fasil Giorghis Consulting Architects
David Greenfield, SOENECS
Sarah Healey-Dilkes, ACP/Independent sculpture and monument conservator
Dirk Hendricx, Conservation by Design
Manuel Hidalgo, Arkema
David Hollis, LA Vision UK Ltd
Phil Hossack, Skypower
Andy Howard, Landscape Research Management

Tim Hutton, Hutton and Rostron
Rob Jenkins, Grosvenor Britain and Ireland
Alistair Kerrigan, TQC
Levente Klein, IBM T.J. Watson Research Centre
David Knight, Trent and Peak
Joshua Kopecek, Echoes
Clemens Kuehner, OSRAM
Ian Laidlaw, Analytik Ltd
Dirk Lichtblau, Lichtblau e.K
Tom Lipinski, Q-Bot
Mark Lumley, Architype
Parris Lyew-Ayee, Mona Geoinformaticss
Jas Mahey, TA Instruments
Laurent Martin, Conservation by Design
Fred Mosselmans, Diamond Light Source 
Meriel O'Dowd, Churches Conservation Trust 
Jon Orrel, HOP Consulting
Maria Papadomanolaki, Sound Artist
Michael Petr, The Dow Chemical Company
Kenneth Png, Carl Zeiss UK
Amanda Potts, John Simpson Architects
Dirke Rieke-Zapp, Breuckmann Gmbh
Peter Schoeffel, Glashuette Lamberts Waldsassen GmbH 
Alejandro Schrott, IBM T.J. Watson Research Centre

Ben Scott, Sparkd Creative Ltd
Michael Selway, System Simulation
Kevin Smith, Plowden and Smith
Dawson Stelfox, Consarc Design Group
James Still, Point Surveyors
Michael Summers, Michell Instruments
Elise Talgorn, Philips
Chui Tang, Diamond Light Source 
Jacob Thomas, Townshend and Thomas LLP
Mike Toth, R.B.Toth Associates
Robert Turner, EURA Conservation Ltd
Lisa Usman, Plowden and Smith
Tom Van Harreveld, Odournet
J. Van der Burg, Helicon Conversation Sciences
Koert Vermeulen, ACT
Matthew Vincent, Rekrei
Ian Wallis, BSRIA Ltd
Quan Wei, (Sichuan) Chengdu National Museum Museum
Louise Wright, National Physical Laboratory 
Wang Xudong, Dunhuang Academy