XClose

Research and Innovation Services

Home
Menu

Award Services teams

Our teams provide a range of services and specialist advice to support UCL's externally funded research portfolio. Find your Award Services contact below.

Our location


Award Services is located on the 7th floor of Maple House at 149 Tottenham Court Road, London, W1T 7NF.
 

Senior Leadership


The Senior Leadership Team is responsible for the strategic oversight of UCL Award Services.

Senior Leadership Team

Claire Bensusan
Assistant Director, Research Support and Development (Pre-Award)
c.bensusan@ucl.ac.uk
x56859

Kimberly Cornfield
Head of European Research and Innovation Office (Interim)
k.cornfield@ucl.ac.uk
x59374

Mark Hopwood
Assistant Director, Research Operations
m.hopwood@ucl.ac.uk
x58736

Sarah Howells
Assistant Director, Research Finance (Post-Award)
s.howells@ucl.ac.uk
x58758

↑ Back to top
 

Research Operations


The Research Operations Team is responsible for developing and implementing UCL’s research management policies, processes and systems including:

  • Continued development and support of Worktribe Research Management
  • Provision and development of research management information/research reporting
  • Continued improvement of research management processes, guidance and training.
Research Operations Team

Mark Hopwood
Assistant Director, Research Operations
m.hopwood@ucl.ac.uk
x58736

Adam Bales
Research Operations Officer
a.bales@ucl.ac.uk
x58697

Nigel Brooks
Head of Research Information Office
n.brooks@ucl.ac.uk
x58746

Andy Crombie
Special Projects
a.crombie@ucl.ac.uk
x58747

Jade Donovan
Digital Communications Manager
j.donovan@ucl.ac.uk
x53868

Kristina Kertova
Due Diligence Delivery Manager
k.kertova@ucl.ac.uk
x57188

Amy Rutherford
Research Services Business Partner
a.rutherford@ucl.ac.uk
x56885

Nathan Spalding
Research Operations Officer
n.spalding@ucl.ac.uk
x08102

Marin Vitan
Research Operations Officer
m.vitan@ucl.ac.uk
x56257

↑ Back to top
 

Research Support and Development (Pre-Award)


The Research Support and Development (Pre-Award) Teams provide support and advice to departments applying for research grants through:

  • Provision of advice on the costing and pricing of research proposals
  • Provision of advice on scheme application and eligibility criteria
  • Reviewing scheme terms and conditions of funding
  • Reviewing the financial integrity of all research applications (with exception of European proposals) before submission to Funders to ensure adherence to UCL’s and Funder’s requirements
  • Institutional authority to submit grant applications in accordance with UCL’s Financial Regulations and Formal acceptance of awards and subsequent set-up on MyFinance.
Pre-Award Team

Claire Bensusan
Assistant Director, Research Support and Development (Pre-Award)
c.bensusan@ucl.ac.uk
x56869

Life and Medical Sciences (LMS)


Pre-Award support for staff based within Brain Sciences, Life Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Population Health Sciences.

Brain and Medical Sciences

Stavroulla Stavrou
Head of Research Support for LMS (Brain and Medical Sciences)
s.stavrou@ucl.ac.uk
x58765

Mikail Choudhury
Research Support Officer
mikail.choudhury@ucl.ac.uk
x58739

Marilena Gonella
Research Support Officer
m.gonella@ucl.ac.uk
x58699

Neeta Pandya
Research Support Officer
n.pandya@ucl.ac.uk
x58743

Ana Stamenkovic
Research Support Officer
a.stamenkovic@ucl.ac.uk
x57217

Life and Population Health Sciences

Dominic Mikulski
Head of Research Support for LMS (Life and Population Health Sciences)
dominic.mikulski@ucl.ac.uk
x52922

Sabine Austin
Research Support Officer
sabine.austin@ucl.ac.uk
x07956

Matthew Coleman
Research Support Officer
matthew.coleman@ucl.ac.uk
x54716

Majida Haque (currently on maternity leave)
Research Support Officer
majida.haque@ucl.ac.uk
x58716

Feruza Kulturaeva
Research Support Officer
f.kulturaeva@ucl.ac.uk
x58719

BEAMS/SLASH/IOE


Pre-Award support for staff based in The Bartlett, Engineering, and Mathematical & Physical Sciences (BEAMS), Laws, Arts and Humanities, Social and Historical Sciences, and the School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SLASH), and UCL Institute of Education (IOE).

Bradley Robinson
Head of Research Support & Development for BEAMS, SLASH and IOE (Interim)
bradley.robinson@ucl.ac.uk

Kevin Boxell
Research Support Officer
k.boxell@ucl.ac.uk
x56863

George Eyre
Research Support Officer (BEAMS, SLASH and IOE)
g.eyre@ucl.ac.uk
x58718

Elena Kushnerenko
Research Support Officer (BEAMS, SLASH and IOE)
e.kushnerenko@ucl.ac.uk
x07784

Charlene Perrier
Research Support Officer (BEAMS, SLASH and IOE)
c.perrier@ucl.ac.uk
x58708

↑ Back to top
 

Research Finance and Compliance (Post-Award)


The Post-Award team is responsible for the financial administration of UCL’s externally funded research portfolio. They work with researchers, local professional services colleagues and funders to provide specialist knowledge and guidance on all aspects of post-award project management and reporting. The team’s primary services and responsibilities are as follows:

  • Provide support, guidance and best practice advice on all post-award financial administration and reporting matters relating to research awards.
  • Support UCL’s compliance with accounting principles, UCL’s Financial Regulations and funder Terms and Conditions.
  • Financial costing and approval of research-funded staff appointments and studentships, to ensure sufficient budget and project duration are available and comply with the funder’s Terms and Conditions.
  • Monitoring budgets to ensure that the project operates in accordance with its budget and, if required, assist the PI to prepare budget adjustments.
  • Reconciliation of income and expenditure throughout the lifecycle of research awards to analyse financial activity and verify expenditure is eligible.
  • Responsible for the preparation and submission of financial claims, invoices, financial statements and reports to funders, in line with the funder’s Terms and Conditions, claim formats, schedules and deadlines.
  • Maintain financial records on projects and process changes in project data – extensions, suspensions, supplements, virements, and terminations.
  • Perform quality assurance activities for compliance with audit requirements.
  • Arrange and manage research project audits, liaise with internal and external auditors, and ensure clear audit trails with supporting data.
  • Investigate and resolve queries and provide information for PIs, local research support and funders.
Post-Award Team

Sarah Howells
Assistant Director, Research Finance and Compliance (Post-Award)
s.howells@ucl.ac.uk
x58758

Leah Payne
Research Payroll Supervisor
lb.payne@ucl.ac.uk
x5594


Christopher Long
EC Policy Manager
christopher.long@ucl.ac.uk
x58710

Maureen Casey
EC Research Finance Administrator
m.casey@ucl.ac.uk
x58738

Johann Fevrier
EC Finance Research Administrator
j.fevrier@ucl.ac.uk
x58724

Julia Spittles
EC Research Finance Assistant
julia.spittles@ucl.ac.uk
x57582


Donna Grant
Research Finance Manager
d.a.grant@ucl.ac.uk
x58714

Roberto Hertel
Research Finance Administrator
r.hertel@ucl.ac.uk
x58753

Rudo M’Tandari
Research Finance Administrator
r.m'tandari@ucl.ac.uk
x58755

Tanaya-Toga Makawa
Research Finance Administrator
t.makawa@ucl.ac.uk
x52276

Rosemarie Neunie
Research Finance Administrator
r.neunie@ucl.ac.uk
x58754

Paul Sloan
Research Finance Administrator
p.sloan@ucl.ac.uk
x58656


Priya Sutharssan
Research Finance Manager (Acting)
p.sutharssan@ucl.ac.uk
x58751

Lindsey Du Plooy (currently on maternity leave)
Research Finance Manager (Acting)
l.plooy@ucl.ac.uk
x58628

Netsai Hakurotwi
Research Finance Administrator
n.hakurotwi@ucl.ac.uk
x02440

Sophia Chiang
Research Finance Administrator
s.chiang@ucl.ac.uk
x45233

Linda Ogunbiyi (currently on maternity leave)
Research Finance Administrator
l.ogunbiyi@ucl.ac.uk
x59117

Carlton Paul
Research Finance Administrator
carlton.paul@ucl.ac.uk
x59400


Nick Hurd
Research Finance Manager
n.hurd@ucl.ac.uk
x58745

Nathanial Bones
Research Finance Administrator
n.bones@ucl.ac.uk
x57205

Priya Gajiparia (currently on secondment)
Research Finance Administrator
p.gajiparia@ucl.ac.uk
x58750

Sidrah Hussain
Research Finance Administrator
sidrah.hussain@ucl.ac.uk
x09091

Dalia Kranauskaite
Research Finance Administrator
d.kranauskaite@ucl.ac.uk
x58707

Andrew Lewis
Research Finance Administrator
andrew.r.lewis@ucl.ac.uk
x58654

Arjun Robertson
Research Finance Administrator
arjun.robertson@ucl.ac.uk
x65107

Saira Zaidi
Research Finance Administrator
s.zaidi@ucl.ac.uk
x58734


Magdalena Hagen
Research Finance Manager
m.nowak@ucl.ac.uk
x58601

Victoria Dovey
Research Finance Administrator
v.dovey@ucl.ac.uk
x57227

Susan Itipe
Research Finance Administrator
s.itipe@ucl.ac.uk
x58987

Jusna Jalil
Research Finance Administrator
j.jalil@ucl.ac.uk
x58749


Sarah Walton
Research Finance Manager
sarah.walton@ucl.ac.uk
x58759

Ewa Azizali
Research Finance Administrator
e.azizali@ucl.ac.uk
x02441

Mandy Chong
Research Finance Administrator
mandy.chong@ucl.ac.uk
x68007

Emma Cockerton
Research Finance Administrator
e.cockerton@ucl.ac.uk
x58717

Alexandra De Sousa
Research Finance Administrator
a.sousa@ucl.ac.uk
x45241

Aleja Taddesse
Research Finance Administrator
a.taddesse@ucl.ac.uk
x59117

↑ Back to top
 

European Research and Innovation Office (ERIO)


The team provides comprehensive support to all UCL staff members seeking to participate in or lead initiatives under EU research and innovation funding programmes.  ERIO’s core services include:

  • Information and advice on the Horizon Europe programme
  • A specialist contract management service for all UCL PIs who have been awarded a Horizon 2020 or Horizon Europe project
  • A comprehensive project management service, which is currently managing collaborative Horizon grants led by UCL
  • Guidance and support to IOEcolleagues seeking research and innovation funding from the European Commission Directorate General for Education and Culture (DG EAC)
  • Horizon Europe proposal management and writing service (available on a consultancy basis).
ERIO Team

Kimberly Cornfield
Head of European Research and Innovation Office (Interim)
k.cornfield@ucl.ac.uk
x59374

Martin Scott
Head of European Innovation Management
martin.scott@ucl.ac.uk
x59371

European Contracts


Giles Machell
Head of Contracts Management
g.machell@ucl.ac.uk
x59375

Gianluca Marchiori
European Contracts Manager
g.marchiori@ucl.ac.uk
x57725

Vacant
European Contracts Manager

Vacant
European Contracts Assistant

European Proposal Development


Dr Juliet Ellis
European Proposal Manager
juliet.ellis@ucl.ac.uk
x59383

European Project Management


Ilaria Marsili
Head of European Project Management
i.marsili@ucl.ac.uk
x09637

Eranda Begaj
European Project Manager
e.begaj@ucl.ac.uk
x88634

Elena Gatti
European Project Manager
e.gatti@ucl.ac.uk
x56263

Panos Papoutsis
European Project Manager
p.papoutsis@ucl.ac.uk
x58711

Marko Rupcic
European Project Manager
m.rupcic@ucl.ac.uk
x55894

Alisha Tauro
European Project Manager
a.tauro@ucl.ac.uk
x88634

Camille Voirin
European Project Manager
c.voirin@ucl.ac.uk
x55895

↑ Back to top
 

UKRI Training Grants/Studentships


The URKI Training Grants/Studentships team supports UCL’s Research Council Training Grant portfolio through:

  • The provision of pre-award support for Research Council Training Grant studentship proposals
  • Budget management advice and financial reporting; audit of the Research Councils UK (RCUK) Je-S records for Research Council Training Grant studentships
  • Authorisation of stipend payments to Research Council Training Grant studentships and Preparation of Final Expenditure Statements.
UKRI Training Grants/Studentships Team

Gavin Oliver
Research Finance Manager, Doctoral Training Grants (DTGs)
gavin.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
x07881

Ann Enoyoze
Research Finance Officer (Studentships)
a.enoyoze@ucl.ac.uk
x58705

Rachel Li
Research Finance Officer (Studentships)
rachel.li@ucl.ac.uk
x65168

Sandra Rugea
Research Finance Officer (Studentships)
sandra.rugea@ucl.ac.uk
x65387

↑ Back to top