Reading Recovery Europe


Excellence in Literacy Quality Mark

The ELQM is under development in 2018 so we are currently not accepting any new registrations for accreditation.

However schools are welcome to use the free self-evaluation framework to review and develop their current literacy practices.

The Excellence in Literacy Quality Mark self-evaluation framework supports the review of five connected areas of effective literacy provision:

  1. Quality teaching and learning for all
  2. Targeted literacy intervention
  3. Progress and pupil voice
  4. Professional learning and development
  5. Parents, carers and partnerships.

Each area incorporates five strands of regular activity in which schools will be engaged over regular cycles of review - CLEAR:

  1. Communication
  2. Leadership
  3. Evidence-based decision-making
  4. Assessment and monitoring
  5. Resourcing.