News and Events

Read all the latest news within the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences.


PALS_Silver_SWAN_Small

Read more about the PALS Swan Silver Award


Divisional Subject Pool

Access and sign up for the Divisional Subject Pool.


Green Issues

The Division has won the Silver Award for the UCL Green Impact scheme


CPD@PaLS Courses

The Division runs Continuing Professional Development courses.


Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

 

Prospective students

General information on PhD study in the Division

Current Research Students

Nada Al-Sari
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: nada.sari.10@ucl.ac.uk
The development of an Arabic Lexical Neighbourhood Test.
Wafa'a Alshangiti
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: ucjtwal@ucl.ac.uk
Jose Joaquin Atria
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: j.atria.11@ucl.ac.uk
Emma Brint
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: emma.brint.11@ucl.ac.uk
Lucy Carroll
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: lucy.carroll.11@ucl.ac.uk
Mauricio Figueroa-Candia
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: m.figueroa.12@ucl.ac.uk
Sonia Granlund
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: sonia.granlund.09@ucl.ac.uk
Dorothea Hackman
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Phone: 07710269195 Email: d.hackman@ucl.ac.uk
Impact of first language on the acquisition of English intonation by adult refugees in London
Cristiane Hsu
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 328, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: cristiane.hsu.11@ucl.ac.uk
Daniel Kennedy-Higgins
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 328, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
daniel.kennedy-higgins.11@ucl.ac.uk
Albert Lee
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 328, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: kwing.lee.10@ucl.ac.uk
Hao Liu
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: h.liu.12@ucl.ac.uk
Xiaoluan Liu
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: xiaoluan.liu.12@ucl.ac.uk
Gisela Tome Lourido
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: gisela.lourido.11@ucl.ac.uk
Katharine Mair
MA, MRes, BA, BSc in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: + 44 (0) 20 7669 4041 Email: k.mair@ucl.ac.uk
Auditory perception in autistic spectrum disorders
Georgina Oliver
Student in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: + 44 (0) 20 7669 4041 g.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
2nd language speech perception
Yasna Pereira Reyes
Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: + 44 (0) 20 7669 4041 Email: yasna.pereira.09@ucl.ac.uk
2nd language speech perception
Csaba Redey-Nagy
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 328, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: c.redey-nagy@ucl.ac.uk
Speech perception in specific language impairment
Tim Schoof
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: t.schoof@ucl.ac.uk
Dong-Jin Shin
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: dj.shin.09@ucl.ac.uk
L2 Speech perception
Yasuaki Shinohara
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: y.shinohara@ucl.ac.uk
Improvement of L2 Speech Perception and Production for Japanese speakers.
Jieun Song
Dept.Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: jieun.song@ucl.ac.uk
Kurt Steinmetzger
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: kurt.steinmetzger.12@ucl.ac.uk
Louise Stringer
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041
Email: l.stringer.11@ucl.ac.uk
Yue Zhang
in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: yue.zhang.12@ucl.ac.uk

Recently completed students

Chierh Cheng
Mechanism of Extreme Phonetic Reduction: Evidence from Taiwan Mandarin  Doctoral thesis, UCL. Now at Hokkaido University, Japan.
Sophie Gates
Speech processing in typical and atypical language development: Using non-words to map the way Doctoral thesis, UCL.
Rosemary O'Halpin
Perception and production of stress and intonation by with cochlear implants (2010). Doctoral thesis, University of London
Now at Beaumont Hospital, Dublin
Kota Hattori
Perception and production of English /r/-/1/ by adult Japanese speakers (2010). Doctoral thesis, UCL
Now at University of Canterbury, New Zealand Institute of Language, Brain, and Behaviour
Angelos Lengeris
Individual differences in second-language vowel learning (2009).   Doctoral thesis, UCL. Now GSRT postdoctoral research fellow, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, School of English, Department of Theoretical and Applied Linguistics.
Wing Li Wu
Cantonese Prosody: Sentence-final Particles and Prosodic Focus (2013).  Doctoral thesis UCL. Now at Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Melanie Pinet
Accent effects on the recognition of speech in noise: Second-language proficiency, accent similarity and adaptation.
Doctoral thesis, UCL  Now at Division of Psychology and Language Sciences, UCL
Jeong-Sug Kyong
Speech Intelligibility and hemispheric asymmetry (2009).  Doctoral thesis, UCL  Now at Division of Psychology and Language Sciences, UCL
Catherine Siciliano
Perceptual Adaptation to Binaurally Mismatched Frequency-to-Place Maps: Implications for Bilateral Stimulation with Cochlear Implants (2009).  Doctoral thesis, UCL.
Was Lecturer at University of Manchester, School of Psychological Sciences, now Scientist at HMRC.
Kayoko Yanagisawa
Spoken Language Conversion with Accent Morphing (cross-language voice conversion, speech synthesis)
Now with Toshiba, Cambridge, UK