Study abroad


Module levels and credits

Module levels and credits

Which module level is right for me?

You’ll notice that modules are sometimes given a level; these are intended to indicate the amount of prerequisite knowledge required for the modules.

  • Level 1 modules are usually introductory and would be appropriate as an option outside your main subject area, to broaden your scope.
  • Levels 2 and 3 will normally require prior study.
  • Level 4 modules are the most advanced on offer.
  • Core modules may be compulsory, for example the Core modules for International Relations and Political Science, but they do not usually require any prerequisite knowledge.

How are my credits worked out?

Credits at UCL are called “course units”, or CU. Most modules are worth either 1 CU (for modules that run over a full year) or 0.5 CU (for those that run over one term). A 1 CU module is roughly equivalent to 8 US credits, or 15 ECTS, and a 0.5 CU module is equivalent to 4 US credits, or 7.5 ECTS. Credit conversion is at your home institution's discretion.


  • Register interest in your chosen subjects
  • Receive notice of visits to your country and more
Register now