MRC Prion Unit and Institute of Prion diseases


Athena Swan

Athena Swan Charter is a framework which is used across the globe to support and transform gender equality within higher education (HE) and research. Established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment, the Charter is now being used across the globe to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Athena Swan committee
Current members of the IoPD’s Athena Swan Committee (ASC) are:
Graham Jackson (Chair), Jackie Linehan (Deputy Chair), Malin Sandberg (Carer Champion),
Amali De Silva, Beenaben Mistry, Damian Johnson, Elizabeth Hill, Emmanuel Risse, Thomas Murphy and Tom Trainer.