Department of Political Science


University College London (Photo credit: UCL)


Masters Programmes

Postgraduate modules

Modules are available to MA/MSc students outside of the department but are subject to numbers and are allocated on a first-come first-served basis. If you are a student from outside the Department, interested in taking a Political Science module, please register for your choice on PORTICO.

The Department will review availability on your chosen module and approve or reject on PORTICO accordingly.

Tavistock Square road sign (Photo credit: UCL)

About the Department

The Department of Political Science / School of Public Policy began as Britain's only department focused on graduate teaching and research.

Located in the magnificent Tavistock Square, one of London's most beautiful squares, our ten Masters degrees and doctoral training programme offer a range of opportunities for post-graduate study.

Lecturer in front of a display screen (Photo credit: UCL)


The School's academic discipline is political science, including the fields of international relations and political theory.

From 2001, the School has built up a core faculty of many academic staff across these fields, with a Department of Political Science coming formally into being in 2005.

Nicola Sturgeon with Professor Robert Hazell (Photo credit: UCL)

Events and seminars

The Policy and Practice Seminar Series includes presentations of scholarly research and talks by high-profile policy makers, practitioners and academics.

They take place each weekand are are public events: all students and the general public are welcome to attend.