Department of Political Science


Undergraduate students at UCL


Frequently Asked Questions




Tavistock Square road sign (Photo credit: UCL)

About the Department

The Department of Political Science / School of Public Policy began as Britain's only department focused on graduate teaching and research.

Located in the magnificent Tavistock Square, one of London's most beautiful squares, our ten Masters degrees and doctoral training programme offer a range of opportunities for post-graduate study.

Nicola Sturgeon with Professor Robert Hazell (Photo credit: UCL)

Events and seminars

The Policy and Practice Seminar Series includes presentations of scholarly research and talks by high-profile policy makers, practitioners and academics.

They take place each weekand are are public events: all students and the general public are welcome to attend.

Lecturer in front of a display screen (Photo credit: UCL)


The School's academic discipline is political science, including the fields of international relations and political theory.

From 2001, the School has built up a core faculty of many academic staff across these fields, with a Department of Political Science coming formally into being in 2005.