XClose

UCL Psychology and Language Sciences

Home
Menu

Summer Course in English Phonetics

We very much hope that we will be able to see you in London for the Summer Course in English Phonetics 2022. In the meantime, AUGUST 2021 will see our first ever VIRTUAL SCEP!

VSCEP 16-20 August 2021

This event is now *SOLD OUT*

TEACHING STAFF  VSCEP 2021 TIMETABLEFEES AND APPLICATION
DISCOUNTSRECOMMENDED READINGOUR CENTENARY SCEP 100

 

vscep graphic
Whether you're a teacher, a student or a fan of English, whatever your native language (including English), here is a virtual opportunity to study English phonetics at University College London! All sessions will be delivered live via Zoom, with teaching beginning each day at 11:30 UK time. (That is for example 07:30 in Argentina, 12:30 in most of Europe, 18:30 in China and 19:30 in Japan.)

 

You can brush up your knowledge of the theoretical side of phonetics and bring yourself up-to-date on new developments. You may want to do ear-training and listening practice. Or you may just want to improve your own English pronunciation. It's all available in this one-week virtual course from the staff of UCL's famous Summer Course in English Phonetics, founded over a century ago by the great Daniel Jones.

Our course will cover all the main aspects of English phonetics:

  • phonemic system (vowels and consonants)
  • segmental analysis (allophonic processes)
  • connected speech processes
  • sentence stress (tonicity, accentuation)
  • intonation (nuclear tones and prenuclear patterns)

These topics will be investigated both in lectures and in practical classes. Practical groups will be kept small (not more than six people) and will be organised according to your prior knowledge of English and your English proficiency. For example, we may have groups consisting of 

  • teachers of English as a foreign language
  • undergraduate students of English
  • university academics and postgraduates

The course will cover with both speaking and listening skills. You will get plenty of practice in pronunciation performance and in auditory discrimination in special ear-training sessions.

  

We're on Facebook and Twitter