UCL News


UCL community recognised in New Year's Honours 2019

2 January 2019

Congratulations to the members of the UCL community who have been recognised in the 2019 New Year's Honours list.

New Year Honours 2019 recipients

Professor Jonathan Montgomery (UCL Laws) was appointed Knight Bachelor for services to Bioethics and Healthcare Law.

Sir Jonathan, Professor of Healthcare Law, joined UCL Laws in 2013. Alongside his academic contributions while at UCL, he has been Chair of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics, Chair of the Health Research Authority, and a member of the Morecambe Bay Investigation panel that examined NHS failures in relation to neonatal and maternal deaths in Cumbria. 

On receiving a Knighthood, he said: “I am delighted and rather overwhelmed by this recognition. I have always tried to ensure that my academic work contributes to public life. It is one of the great strengths of UCL that it embraces this responsibility and that is one of the reasons that I am proud to work there. 

“This award reflects the importance of good regulation to ensure that the excellent platform the UK provides for health and social care research is consistent with human rights and the rule of law.”

Professor Alison Park (UCL Institute of Education) has been made a CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire) for services to the Social Sciences.

Professor Park CBE joined UCL in 2015, as Director of CLOSER, an ESRC and MRC funded partnership that brings together eight longitudinal studies, four of which (the 1946, 1958, 1970 and 2000/01 national birth cohorts) are based here at UCL.

During her career at UCL, Professor Park has overseen the launch of the CLOSER Learning Hub, aimed at those who are new to longitudinal studies, and has led UCL's contribution to a European-wide project called EuroCohort, which is designing a cross-national longitudinal study on child and young adult well-being, funded by the European Commission under Horizon2020. In January 2019 Professor Park CBE will leave UCL to take up the role of Director of Research at the ESRC.

Professor Hugh Griffiths (UCL Electronic & Electrical Engineering) was appointed an OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire) for services to Engineering.

Professor Griffiths OBE is recognised as a world leader in the subject of bistatic radar. He has pioneered the development of bistatic radar and advanced the theory and implementation of passive radar which are evidenced by successful experimentations, large volume of highly- cited papers, and recognition by the Royal Academy of Engineering Chair, the IET A F Harvey Prize, and the IEEE Picard Medal.

He currently leads a research programme to measure the bistatic radar signatures of sea clutter and targets. He has led research on waveform diversity, cognitive radar, spectrum engineering, drone detection, and ground penetrating radar for landmine detection, within impacting international organisations such as NATO.

On receiving his award, Professor Griffiths OBE, said: “I am thrilled at this honour, which recognises the importance of our work at UCL, and I am hugely grateful to all of the engineers and scientists who I have worked with and learned from over the years.

UCL alumni, fellows, honorary degree holders and donors represented in this year's list include:

  • Professor Sir Jeremy Farrar (UCL MBBS Medicine 1983) – Knight Bachelor for services to global health
  • Professor Sir Melvyn Greaves (UCL BSc Zoology 1964) – Knight Bachelor for services to childhood leukaemia research
  • Dr Sir Patrick Vallance (Honorary Fellow of UCL) – Knight Bachelor for services to open clinical science
  • Tacita Dean (UCL Higher Diploma Fine Art 1992) – CBE for services to art
  • Christopher Nolan (UCL BA English 1993) – CBE for services to film
  • Mustafa Suleyman (Honorary Fellow of UCL) – CBE for services to the UK Technology Industry
  • John Beavis (UCL MBBS Medicine 1967) – OBE for services to victims of war and disaster
  • Basil Hood (UCL MA Archive Studies 1987) – OBE for services to national security
  • Charles Garrett (UCL BA Russian Studies 1985) – OBE for services to British foreign policy
  • Dr Jagbir Jhutti-Johal (BA Ancient History & Social Anthropology 1993) – OBE for services to higher education, faith communities and the voluntary sector
  • Emma Nottingham (UCL BA Philosophy 2004, MA Legal & Political Theory 2007) – OBE for services to British foreign policy
  • Professor Jonathan Seckl (UCL MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 1980) – OBE for services to endocrinology
  • Stephen Trow (UCL BSc Archaeology 1980) – OBE for services to heritage
  • Professor Antony Young (UCL MBBS Medicine (Clinical) 1994, MPhil Physiology 2007) – OBE for services to clinical leadership
  • David Griffiths (UCL degree at Slade School of Art 1986) – MBE for services to art, particularly portrait painting
  • William Woolley (UCL School of Pharmacy BPharm 1953) – MBE for services to the community in Blackburn and Darwen
  • Andria Zafirakou (UCL Institute of Education PGCE (Art & Design Education) 2005) – MBE for services to education and young people in Brent
  • Alicia Weston (UCL BSc Pharmacology 1992 – BEM for services to the community in London
  • Susan Vaile (UCL MPhil Town Planning 1968) – BEM for voluntary service in Warwickshire



  • Left to right: Professor Sir Jonathan Montgomery, Professor Alison Park CBE and Professor Hugh Griffiths OBE