UCL News


UCL researchers take their research to parliament

9 March 2016

Thomas Rogers (UCL Security & Crime Science) has been awarded the Silver medal in engineering for his research poster presented at this year's SET for Britain competition.

Thomas Rogers

Thomas's research into automating and streamlining cargo inspection was judged against the work of dozens of other scientist and engineers in the only national competition of its kind.

Thomas said, ""Although it was very tough and highly intense, I've thoroughly enjoyed this competition. The organisers, MPs and other researchers were all extremely friendly people and it's been a pleasure to present my research at the House of Commons.

"During your PhD, you are focused on the small, intricate details, but this event helps you to zoom out and analyse the picture as a whole. I'm still shocked to have won silver! I'd like to thank everyone from the GriffinLab at UCL, UCL SECReT, and Rapiscan Systems for their help and support."

In total, eight researchers from across UCL were shortlisted to present their research to a panel of expert judges and MPs in this year's competition.

Run by the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, with support from various institutions, SET for Britain aims to encourage, support and promote early career research scientists, engineers, technologists and mathematicians from around the UK whilst fostering dialogue between researchers and MPs.

Split into five categories - engineering, biological and biomedical sciences, chemistry, physics and mathematics, the competition offers prizes up to £3,000 for the posters which best communicate high level science to a lay audience. 

Stephen Metcalfe MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, said:

"This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country's best young researchers.

"These early career engineers, mathematicians and scientists are the architects of our future and SET for Britain is politicians' best opportunity to meet them and understand their work".

This year's UCL entrants included:

  • Dr Zhirayrh Avetisyan (UCL Mathematics)
  • Dr Francesco Fioranelli (UCL Electronic & Electrical Engineering)
  • Roberta Guilizzoni (UCL Physics & Astronomy)
  • Dr Diana Knipl (UCL Mathematics)
  • Dr Adnan Mehonic (UCL Electronic & Electrical Engineering)
  • Carrie-Anne Molyneaux (UCL School of Pharmacy)
  • Thomas Rogers (UCL Security & Crime Science)
  • Matthew Wright (UCL Mathematics)



  • L-R: Margaret Low, Dr Stephen Benn, Professor Dame Ann Dowling, Thomas Rogers, Stephen Metcalfe MP (Courtesy of John Deehan)