UCL News


SLMS researchers elected as Fellows of Royal Society

29 April 2016

Professors Maria Fitzgerald (Professor of Developmental Neurobiology, UCL Division of Biosciences) and Eleanor Maguire (Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, UCL Institute of Neurology) will become elected fellows of the Royal Society.

Maria Fitzgerald is Professor of Developmental Neurobiology, Department Of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology, UCL Division of Biosciences. Maria is a world leader in the science of pain and her research has had a major impact on the treatment of pain in infants.

Eleanor Maguire is Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow and Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience at Wellcome Trust Centre for Neuroimaging, UCL Institute of Neurology, and is an honorary neuropsychologist at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. She has transformed our understanding of how memories are made, represented and recollected by the human brain.

The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from or living and working in the UK and the Commonwealth. Professors Fitzgerald and Maguire were among 50 newly elected fellows who have made 'a substantial contribution to the improvement of natural knowledge, including mathematics, engineering science and medical science'. 

Outside of the SLMS community, Polina Bayvel (Professor of Optical Communications, Faculty of Engineering) was also elected.