UCL News


UCL Honorary Graduands and Fellows 2014

11 September 2014

A range of eminent figures have joined the list of UCL Honorary Graduands and Honorary Fellows during the 2014 graduation ceremonies, held from 26 August to 5 September.

UCL Honorary Graduands and Fellows 2014

An Honorary Degree is the highest mark of distinction that a university can award. Honorary Degrees are conferred on people who have a record of outstanding achievement in scholarship or in public life and who have made contributions of unusual importance. Recipients of Honorary Degrees will normally have, or have had, a close association with UCL.

Honorary Fellowships are awarded to people who have attained distinction in the arts, literature, science or public life; have rendered exceptional service to UCL, which may include philanthropic support; or have a close association with UCL. The ceremonies are a great opportunity for graduating students to meet and talk to the inspirational individuals receiving two of UCL's highest accolades.

Honorary Graduands 2014

  • Lord Melvyn Bragg Honorary Doctorate of Literature (DLit) Broadcaster and author
  • Professor Wendy Davies OBE Honorary Doctorate of Literature (DLit) Emerita Professor of History, UCL
  • Professor Dave Delpy Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc (Eng)) Chief Executive, EPSRC
  • Professor Dame Athene Donald Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc) Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Dame Wendy Hall Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc (Eng)) Professor of Computer Science, University of Southampton
  • Mr Stephen Rubin OBE Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc) Chairman Pentland Group plc
  • Professor Michael Ruse Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc) Lucyle T Werkmeister Professor of Philosophy, Florida State University
  • Professor Margaret Snowling Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc) President, St John's College
  • Professor Marc Tessier-Lavigne Honorary Doctorate of Science (DSc) Neuroscientist, President Rockefeller University
  • Professor Michael Worton Honorary Doctorate of Literature (DLit) Formerly Vice-Provost (International, UCL; Emeritus Fielden Professor of French Language and Literature

Honorary Fellows 2014

  • Dr Elizabeth Mason Honorary Fellowship of UCL Director, World Health Organisation (WHO Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health Division, Geneva
  • Professor Phyllida Barlow Honorary Fellowship of UCL Artist; Professor Emerita, Slade School of Fine Art
  • Mr Andrew Ng Honorary Fellowship of UCL Owner and Managing Director of Andrew W Y Ng & Co, Hong Kong
  • Ms Camila Batmanghelidjh Honorary Fellowship of UCL Founder and Director of Kid's Company
  • Mr Chris Masterson Honorary Fellowship of UCL Chairman, Montagu Private Equity LLP
  • Mr Jon Moulton Honorary Fellowship of UCL Chairman, Better Capital
  • Mr Nirmal Sethia Honorary Fellowship of UCL Chairman N Sethia Group Limited
  • Mr Robin Ince Honorary Fellowship of UCL Freelance comedian and author


  • (From left to right) Professor Michael Ruse, Robin Ince and Professor Dame Athene Donald