UCL News


Professor Dayan awarded the twelfth annual David E. Rumelhart Prize

4 August 2011

Congratulations to Professor Peter Dayan, Director of the Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit at UCL, who has been awarded the David E.

Rumelhart Prize for Contributions to the Theoretical Foundations of Human Cognition.

The David E. Rumelhart Prize is named for Stanford Professor Rumelhart (1942-2011), a pioneer in the field of cognitive neuroscience and well known for his work in the 70's and 80's creating computer models that simulated cognitive tasks.

Recipients of the David E. Rumelhart prize, funded by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation, receive a hand-crafted, custom bronze medal, a certificate, a citation of the awardee's contribution, and a monetary award of $100,000.

Professor Dayan builds theoretical mathematical and computational models in his research, seeking to understand the neural systems involved in representation, learning and behaviour. Upon receiving the award, he commented: "I am honoured and indeed humbled to receive this prize, particularly since David Rumelhart was my postdoctoral grandfather. Rumelhart's form of computational modelling was instrumental early on in making links between cognitive science and neuroscience; we are proud to follow in these footsteps."


Peter Dayan's website

Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit at UCL

The David E. Rumelhart Prize