UCL News


Two new UCL Fellows of the Royal Society

21 May 2010


Professors Gabriel Aeppli and Ray Dolan phys.ucl.ac.uk/contact/staffmember.php?id=282" target="_self">Professor Gabriel Aeppli
  • Professor Ray Dolan
  • The Royal Society
  • UCL's Professor Gabriel Aeppli and Professor Ray Dolan have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society.

    Professor Aeppli is Quain Professor of Physics (UCL Physics and Astronomy) and Director of the London Centre for Nanotechnology, a joint venture between UCL and Imperial College London.

    Professor Dolan is Mary Kinross Professor of Neuropsychiatry and Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Neuroimaging at UCL. He said: "I am personally delighted. These honours also pay tribute to the outstanding intellectual environment I enjoy at UCL and longstanding support I have enjoyed from the Wellcome Trust."

    The new Fellows join the ranks of the UK and Commonwealth's leading scientists as the Society celebrates its 350th Anniversary.

    Martin Rees, President of the Royal Society said: "I am delighted to welcome these new Fellows to the Royal Society in what is a hugely important year for us. These scientists follow in the footsteps of early Fellows such as Isaac Newton, Robert Boyle and Robert Hooke. The new Fellows announced today embody the spirit of enquiry, dedicated to 'the relief of man's estate' on which the Royal Society was founded. That spirit is as alive today as it was 350 years ago."

    The Royal Society is an independent academy promoting the natural and applied sciences. Founded in 1660, the Society has three roles, as the UK academy of science, as a learned Society, and as a funding agency. It responds to individual demand with selection by merit, not by field.

    Image: Professor Gabriel Aeppli (left) and Professor Ray Dolan

    Related news

    UCL staff elected to Academy of Medical Sciences