UCL News


Eleven staff win Provost's Teaching Awards

2 June 2010


Lecturer ucl.ac.uk/teaching-learning/" target="_self">UCL Teaching, Learning and Assessment
  • UCL Centre for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching
  • Eleven UCL staff have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to excellence and innovation in teaching in this year's Provost's Teaching Awards.

    The awards, now in their fourth year, celebrate leadership in teaching and learning across UCL's eight faculties, and each winner is nominated by his/her Dean or Head of Department.

    There were 26 submissions this year, 21 of which were individual submissions, plus five team nominations. The categories in which awards are made reflect the diversity of staff involved in supporting teaching and learning.

    The scheme is implemented under the auspices of Professor Michael Worton, Vice-Provost (Academic and International), in collaboration with the UCL Centre for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching.

    Professor Worton said: "Teaching has always been a vital part of UCL's activity and of its profile and reputation. However, in today's complex globalised world, with all of the challenges facing us, teaching is going to be an even more important dimension of what we do. It is vital therefore that we not only maintain but enhance our reputation for excellence and innovation. 

    "UCL's Provost's Teaching Awards are not only about recognising and rewarding colleagues who are making significant contributions to teaching and learning at UCL; they are also a crucial part of our development strategy for disseminating the best and most innovative practice across UCL's many and diverse departments.

    "Every year, I am astonished by the quality of the nominations - and proud to be part of a university that is a real leader in terms of educational provision."

    The winners of the 2010 Provost's Teaching Awards are:

    Beginning of career

    • Dr Daniel Richardson, UCL Psychology and Language Sciences
    • Dr Sonia Arbaci Sallazzaro, UCL Bartlett School of Planning

    Experienced academic staff

    • Dr John Mitchell, UCL Electronic and Electrical Engineering
    • Dr Helen Chatterjee, Director of Studies for Biological Sciences, Division of Bioscience and Deputy Director, UCL Museums and Collections
    • Dr Sue Hamilton, UCL Institute of Archaeology
    • Professor Roger Wotton, UCL Genetics, Evolution and Environment
    • Dr Rekha Bajoria and Dr Ratna Chatterjee (joint award), UCL Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    • Dr Mike Porter, UCL Chemistry
    • Dr Ariane Smart, UCL Language Centre

    Supporting Learning

    • Professor Andrew Eder, Director of Education, UCL Eastman Dental Institute

    The winners will receive their prizes at a special awards ceremony next month.

    Image: A lecturer at work at UCL

    Related stories:
    Microbubble pioneers win £25,000 prize
    UCL Provost announces measures in response to higher education financial pressures
    Student volunteers scoop award for school project