UCL News


Provost's Teaching Awards recognise excellence and innovation

2 June 2009


UCL main quadrangle ucl.ac.uk/teaching-learning/awards-funding/provosts-teaching-awards" target="_self">Provost's Teaching Awards

Eleven members of UCL have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to excellence and innovation in teaching with Provost's Teaching Awards.

The Provost's Teaching Awards, now in their third year, celebrate leadership in teaching and learning across UCL's eight faculties, and demonstrate our commitment to the promotion of research-led teaching. Each winner was nominated by his/her Dean or Head of Department.

The four categories in which awards are made are intended to reflect the diversity of staff involved in supporting teaching and learning.

The scheme is implemented under the auspices of Professor Michael Worton, Vice-Provost (Academic and International), in collaboration with the UCL Centre for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching.

The winners of the 2009 Provost's Teaching Awards are:

Beginning of career

  • Dr Liam Graham, Economics
  • Dr Richard Mole, School of Slavonic and East European Studies
  • Dr Rodney Reynolds, Anthropology

Experienced academic staff

  • Dr Sandra Dunsmuir, Clinical, Educational and Health Psychology
  • Dr Mark Huckvale, Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
  • Professor Roger Matthews, Institute of Archaeology
  • Dr David Rowley, Chemistry
  • Dr Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen, Scandinavian Studies

Postgraduate teaching assistants

  • Ms Rosemary Coates, Chemistry
  • Dr Daniel Laqua, History

Supporting Learning

  • Mr Nick Mann, Geography

To find out more about the winners' activities and the award scheme, follow the link at the top of this article.