UCL News


Provost's Teaching Awards 2009

18 February 2009

Links: Provost's Teaching Awards: 2008 winners Applications are now invited for the Provost's Teaching Awards 2009.

The Provost's Teaching Awards recognise and reward UCL staff who are making outstanding contributions to the learning experience and success of our students.

The awards celebrate excellence in teaching and showcase the pedagogic expertise and leadership of our staff, both in UCL and nationally. They also demonstrate UCL's commitment to:

  • improving teaching, learning and assessment as an ongoing process;
attracting and retaining world-class staff;
highlighting and rewarding achievements which support teaching and learning.

Ten awards are available. UCL staff who win an award will receive a salary bonus of £2,500 (before tax) and be presented with a certificate at an award ceremony.

The scheme is implemented under the auspices of Professor Michael Worton, Vice-Provost (Academic and International) in collaboration with the UCL Centre for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching.

Deans, in consultation with Heads of Departments, are invited to put forward staff for the awards in the following categories:

  • Academic staff at the beginning of their teaching careers (Lecturer, Research Fellow, Teaching Fellow)

  • Experienced academic staff

  • Staff involved in supporting student learning
  • Postgraduate Teaching Assistants.

The selection panel will wish to see clear evidence of at least one of the following benefits to UCL:

  • Furtherance of UCL's commitment to education for 'global citizenship', social responsibility, leadership, internationalisation of the curriculum
  • Innovative developments in assessment, learning and teaching within and/or across disciplines
  • Innovative use of new technologies in teaching and learning
  • Engagement in the development of interdisciplinary programmes and transdisciplinary student projects (including industry, non-governmental organisations and public engagement)
  • Contribution to the development of world-class skills
  • Innovation in support for learning, such as tutoring, peer assisted learning, developing study skills, supporting special needs and addressing accessibility issues.

Please note that the deadline for submissions is Thursday 19 March 2009.

To find out more about last year's winners, follow the link at the top of this article.