UCL News


AcMedSci Fellowships for UCL academics

8 May 2008


UCL Quad acmedsci.ac.uk/" target="_self">Academy of Medical Sciences

Four UCL academics are among 40 people newly elected to Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The four are: Professor John Hardy (UCL Institute of Neurology), Professor Masud Husain (UCL Institute of Neurology), Professor Andrew Steptoe (UCL Population Health) and Professor Gabriel Waksman (UCL Biosciences).

The elections recognise these scientists' expertise and devotion to addressing key issues in health and wellbeing. The scientists will take their place alongside UCL's other 94 Fellows, reflecting the university's leadership in medical sciences.

The admission ceremony for the new Fellows will take place on 24 June 2008 at the Royal Society. The academy was established in 1998 to act as an authoritative body to promote medical science across traditional disciplinary boundaries. It is independent and is the only body representing the interests of the whole spectrum of academic medicine and related medical sciences. It spans not only clinical academic medicine, but also veterinary science, dentistry, laboratory science, and medical and nursing care.

To find out more about the academy, use the link at the top of this article.