UCL News


UCL welcomes new Fellows and Honorary Fellows: watch the video

8 July 2008

On 17th June 2008, UCL welcomed its new Fellows and Honorary Fellows at an Inauguration Ceremony in the Cruciform Lecture Theatre.


UCL Fellowships (for former students) and Honorary Fellowships (for those who are not former students) are awarded to those who have attained distinction in the arts, literature, science or public life; have rendered exceptional service, which may include philanthropic support, to UCL; or have or have had a close association with UCL. 

This year's UCL Fellow and Honorary Fellows are as follows:

UCL Fellows 2008

Adele Biss (UCL Hebrew 1964; UCL Economics 1967) - Director, Engine

Professor Hugh Clout (UCL Geography 1979) - Emeritus Professor, UCL Geography

Professor J Leonard Culhane, FRS (UCL Physics 1966) - Emeritus Professor, UCL Space & Climate Physics

Dr Ewald Osers, FRSL (UCL Chemistry 1939, UCL Russian 1947) - Vice President International Federation of Translators 1977-81 & 1984-87

Professor Kenneth Pease, OBE (UCL Psychology 1964) - Visiting Professor, UCL Jill Dando Institute of Crime Science

Professor Chris Rapley, CBE (UCL Physics 1976) - Director, Science Museum London

Professor Crispian Scully, CBE (UCL Medicine 1974) - Dean & Director, UCL Eastman Dental Institute

UCL Honorary Fellows 2008

Peter Bishop - Director, Design for London

Professor Rodney Eatock Taylor, FREng - Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Fellow of St Hugh's College, University of Oxford

Maxwell Hutchinson - Director, SMC Group

Geoffrey Piper, DL - Bursar, UCL 1988-97

Professor Sir John O'Reilly, FREng - Vice-Chancellor, Cranfield University

Claudia Roden - Food historian & cookery writer

Moses and Lyn Rothman - Founders, Parkinson's Appeal

Professor Louis Rydill, OBE, FREng - Professor Emeritus of Naval Architecture & Honorary Research Fellow, UCL 1985

Professor John Toland, FRS - Professor of Mathematical Science, University of Bath

Dr Virginia Volterra - Member of Advisory Committee, UCL Deafness, Cognition & Language Research Centre

Professor Roger Williams, CBE - Director of Institute of Hepatology, Royal Free & University College Medical School

View Event