UCL News


AcMedSci Fellowships for UCL academics

30 April 2007

Six UCL academics are among 40 people newly elected to Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

UCL Portico

The six are: Professor Robin Ali (UCL Institute of Ophthalmology), Professor Timothy Cole (UCL Institute of Child Health), Professor Anthony Dickenson (UCL Pharmacology), Professor Elizabeth Fisher (UCL Institute of Neurology), Professor Chris McManus (UCL Psychology) and Dr Tilli Tansey (Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL)

The elections recognise these scientists' expertise and devotion to addressing key issues in health and wellbeing. The scientists will take their place alongside UCL's other 88 Fellows, reflecting the university's leadership in medical sciences.

The admission ceremony for the new Fellows will take place on 28 June 2007 at the Royal Society. The academy was established in 1998 to act as an authoritative body to promote medical science across traditional disciplinary boundaries. It is independent and is the only body representing the interests of the whole spectrum of academic medicine and related medical sciences. It spans not only clinical academic medicine, but also veterinary science, dentistry, laboratory science, and medical and nursing care.

To find out more about the academy, use the link at the bottom of this article.