UCL News


Three UCL scientists made Royal Society Fellows

22 May 2006

Three UCL professors are among the newly elected Fellows of the Royal Society.


Professor Rick Battarbee (UCL Geography), Professor Karl John Friston (UCL Institute of Neurology) and Professor Ziheng Yang (UCL Biology) are among 44 new Fellows, elected for their contributions to science, both in fundamental research resulting in greater understanding and also in leading and directing scientific and technological progress in industry and research establishments.

Professor Malcolm Grant, President and Provost of UCL, welcomed the election of the UCL professors as Fellows: "Scientific excellence is the hallmark of the UK's world-class universities, and we are delighted by the awards to three UCL members, which shows that UCL continues to provide the right climate to nurture outstanding talent. The breadth of disciplines represented by our Fellows is a tribute to UCL's excellence across the spectrum of academic enquiry. Of particular note this year is the Society's recognition of excellence in UCL Geography, in Professor Battarbee's election."

To find out more about the new Fellows' research work, or to see a full list of new Fellows, use the links at the bottom of this article.