UCL News


AcMedSci Fellowships for UCL scientists

3 May 2006

Six UCL academics are among 40 people newly elected to Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The six are: Professor Carol Dezateux (UCL Institute of Child Health), Professor David Isenberg (UCL Medicine), Professor Geoffrey Laurent (UCL Medicine), Professor Roger Ordidge (UCL Medical Physics & Bioengineering, Professor Trevor Smart (UCL Pharmacology) and Professor Andrew Tinker (UCL Medicine and UCL Pharmacology).

The elections recognise these scientists' expertise and devotion to addressing key issues in health and wellbeing. The scientists will take their place alongside UCL's other 82 Fellows, reflecting the university's leadership in medical sciences.

The admission ceremony for the new Fellows will take place on 29 June 2006 at the Royal Society. The academy was established in 1998 to act as an authoritative body to promote medical science across traditional disciplinary boundaries. It is independent and is the only body representing the interests of the whole spectrum of academic medicine and related medical sciences. It spans not only clinical academic medicine but also veterinary science, dentistry, laboratory science, and medical and nursing care.

To find out more about the academy, use the link at the bottom of this article.