UCL News


UCL staff elected to fellowships

18 July 2005

Four UCL scholars appear on the lists of new Fellows published this week by the British Academy and the Royal Academy of Engineering.

They are:
  • Professor David d'Avray (History), to be a Fellow of the British Academy
  • Professor David Bogle (Chemical Engineering), to be a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering
  • Professor Costas Meghir (Economics), to be a Fellow of the British Academy
  • Professor Dawn Oliver (Laws), to be a Fellow of the British Academy.

In addition, Professor Rosemary Ashton (English Language & Literature) has been elected Vice-President (Humanities) of the British Academy.

Professor Malcolm Grant, President and Provost of UCL, welcomed the elections: "I am delighted once again to see the strength of talent at UCL reflected in the elections to these distinguished national academies. These awards follow the elections announced last month of two UCL staff to Fellowship of the Royal Society. The warmest congratulations of the whole UCL community go to all the new Fellows."