UCL Centre for Nature Inspired Engineering


Advisory Board

Academic Advisors

Raffaella Ocone (Chair)

professor in chemical engineering, heriot watt university (uk)
Raffaela Ocone

Raffaela holds the Chair of Chemical Engineering in the School of Engineering and Physical Sciences at Heriot-Watt University (HWU) since 1999. She has over 20 years experience in modelling complex systems, spanning from solid/gas suspensions, to complex reaction networks.

Chris Williams

artistic professor, chalmers university (s)
Chris Williams

Chris is a structural engineer who worked for Ove Arup and Partners prior to Moving into academia. He joined the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering at the University of Bath, and is now Artistic Professor at Chalmers University, Sweden.

Lourdes F Vega

professor in chemical engineering, khalifa university (UEA)
Lourdes Vega

Lourdes is a Full Professor in Chemical Engineering and Director of the Research and Innovation Center on CO2 and H2 (RICH Center) at Khalifa University in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Andrzej Stankiewicz

Andrzej Stankiewicz
emeritus professor in process intensification, Tu delft (NL)

Andrzej was Director of TU Delft Process Technology Institute and Head of the Chair of Intensified Reaction and Separation Systems at Delft University of Technology with almost 40 years of industrial and academic research experience.

Klaus Lackner

director, centre for negative carbon emission, arizona state university (USA)
Klaus Lackner

Klaus is the director of Center for Negative Carbon Emissions and professor at the School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment of the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering, Arizona State University.

Eugene Goldfield

associate faculty, wyss institute (usa)
Eugene Goldfield

Eugene, an Associate Professor in the Program in Behavioral Sciences at Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, is Principal investigator of the Multirobot project and of the Flexible Electronics for Toddlers project of the Bioinspired Robotics Platform at teh Wyss Institute.

Jinghai Li

Jinghai Li
President of the National Natural Science Foundation of China (cn)

Jinghai is President of the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC). From 2004 to 2016, he was a Vice-President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He established the Energy-Minimization Multi-Scale (EMMS) model for gas-solid systems.

Industrial Advisors

Ray Cocco

president and ceo psri (USA)
Ray Cocco

Ray is President and CEO of PSRI. He has 27 years experience in reactor engineering, modeling, fluidization, and particle technology.

Nagore Sabio

research associate, exxonmobile (usa)
Nagore Sabio

Nagore is a Chemical Engineer and graduated with her PhD from UCL. This is where she first got in contact with her current employer ExxonMobil where she is part of the Research and Engineering team in Annandale, NJ.

Oscar Mencer

ceo, maxeler technologies (UK)
Oskar Mencer

Oskar is founder and CEO of Maxeler Technologies, Professor of Practice at Imperial College London, Consulting Professor at Stanford University and Member of Academia Europaea. In 1982, Oskar started programming a Z80 processor, which led to a journey of discovery of computing technology.

David West

corporate fellow, sabic (Us)
David West

David is a Corporate Fellow at SABIC focused on the development of new process technologies and differentiated products.  He joined SABIC in 2012 after 31 years with The Dow Chemical Company. 

P. Michael Pelken

Visiting Professor of UCL, director p+ studio and consulting (uk)
Michael is an experienced registered architect and innovator with a consistent track record of award winning and patented developments in design, architecture, and engineering. He is founder of P+ Studio and Consulting, Senior Associate at the University of Cambridge, Honorary Visiting Professor at City University, London, and Visiting Professor of UCL at The Bartlett.