XClose

UCL Department of Space and Climate Physics

Home
Menu

Astrophysics Seminars

The Astrophysics Group meets every Thursday afternoon. The first Thursday of each month is reserved for the Astrophysics Group Meeting and one internal seminar is held each month.

The time allocated to speakers for their presentations is about 50 minutes (plus 10 minutes for questions). Seminars begin at 2.30pm unless stated otherwise. Given the current climate, all seminars are currently done remotely. We hope to have in person seminars again soon!

Paul Kuin, Jennifer Friske and Angharad Weeks are the seminar organisers. If you have any coments or would like to give a seminar please contact Paul, Jenny or Angharad.

Seminar schedule January 2022 - December 2022

DateTitleSpeakerExpertise
Thursday 6th JanuaryASTRO GROUP MEETING  
Thursday 13 January, 14:30
Probing dark matter with resonant dynamics of the Galactic bar

Rimpei Chiba
University of Oxford

Galactic dynamics
Thursday 20 January, 14:30 Paul Kuin
MSSL
 
Thursday 28 January, 14:30
Radio afterglows of very high energy gamma-ray bursts

Lauren Rhodes
University of Oxford

GRBs
Thursday 3 FebruaryASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 February, 14:30

Testing general relativity, constraining the violation of the strong equivalence principle and alternative theories of gravity using pulsars

Paulo Freire
Max Planck
Tests of gravity theories with pulsar timing
Thursday 17 February, 14:30Obscuration in AGN: NGC 5548, NGC 3783, and the 2019 Transient Event in NGC 3227Sam Grafton Waters
MSSL
 
Thursday 3 March
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 March, 14:30
Exoplanet demographics, detection and stellar activity: transiting planets as probes of stellar variability and planetary architecturesLauren Doyle
Warwick
stellar astrophysics
Thursday 17 March, 14:30Probing planet formation through in-depth characterisation of transiting planetsLouise Dyregaard Nielsen
University of Oxford
Exoplanets
Thursday 21 March, 14:30
Multimessenger astronomy with high-energy neutrinos Foteini Oikonomou
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
High energy neutrinos
Thursday 31 March, 14:30Multi-messenger astronomy including gravitational-wavesMarica Branchesi
Gran Sasso Science Institute
Multimessenges astrophysics
Thursday 7 April
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 14 April
EASTER BREAK
Thursday 28 April, 14:30
Homing in on Cosmic Dawn: When Did the First Galaxies Emerge from Darkness?Richard Ellis
UCL P&A
JSWT, galaxies
Thursday 5 May
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 12 May, 14:30
Unraveling the origins of planetary compositionMihkel Kama
UCL P&A 
protoplanetary disks
Thursday 19 May, 14:30

Fundamental physics and astrophysics using multi-messenger study of extreme-mass-ratio binaries containing a milli-second pulsar

Kinwah Wu
MSSL
 
Thursday 2 June
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 9 June, 14:30
Gas flows and metal enrichment in and around Milky Way-mass galaxiesFreeke van de Voort
Cardiff
Cosmological simulaiton of galaxy formation
Thursday 16 June, 14:30Using Neutral Hydrogen to Probe the Dark UniversePaula soares
QMUL
Cosmology
Thursday 23 June, 14:30
What powers galaxies?Myrto Symeonidis
MSSL
AGN
Thursday 30 June, 14:30Pandemonium in the Planetary GraveyardJay Farihi
UCL P&A
Exoplanets
Thursday 7 July
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
August
 
SUMMER BREAK
Thursday 8 September
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 22 September, 14:30
Barred galaxies in ΛCDM: Uncovering the formation history and dark matter content of Milky Way-type galaxiesFrancesca Fragkoudi
Durham University
Galactic Dynamics
Thursday 29 September, 14:30 Cynthia Ho
MSSL
Exoplanets
Thursday 29 September, 15:00
 Kit George
MSSL
Galactic Dynamics
Thursday 6 October
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 13 October, 14:30
Planet formation in stellar clustersThomas Haworth
QMUL
Planet Formation
Thursday 20 October, 14:30First steps of planet formation in the ALMA and JWST eraPaola Pinilla
MSSL
The Genesis of Planets
Thursday 27 October, 14:30
Constraining cosmology with density-split clusteringCarolina Cuesta-lazaro
Durham University
Cosmology
Thursday 3 November
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 10 November, 14:30
Galactic DynamicsJun Lau
MSSL
Galactic Dynamics
 
Thursday 10 November, 14:30 Paul Lai
MSSL
High Energy Astrophysics
Monday 14 November, 15:30Déjà Vu? The 7th Outburst of the Recurrent Nova RS Oph in soft X-rays

Jan-Uwe Ness
ESAC

High Energy Astrophysics
Thursday 17 November, 14:30Asteroseismic constraints in the context of stellar ages and Galactic evolutionEmma Willett 
Birmingham
Galactic Archaeology/Stellar Astrophysics
Thursday 24 November, 14:30
Title TBCDylan Jow
University of Toronto
High Energy Astrophysics
Thursday 1 December
 
ASTRO GROUP MEETING
Thursday 8 December, 14:30 Davide Piras
UCL P&A
Cosmology
Thursday ?? December
 
ASTRO JAMBOREE

Previous seminars

Our previous seminar schedules can be found below.